Home PageSite MapSite IndexHow to Use This SiteGlossaryContact Us Acknowledgements Image
Canada in the Making
Canada in the MakingAboriginals: Treaties & Relations
Primary Sources
Teachers' Resources
Quick Reference
Specific Events & Topics
Maps & Images
Français
Image
Image
Themes:
Constitutional History
Image
Aboriginals: Treaties & Relations
Image
Pionniers et Immigrants

1497 - 1760
1608 - 1763
1775 - 1812
1811 - 1870
1814 - 1830
1830 - 1867
1842 - 1903
1851 - 1885
1870 - 1896
1896 - 1914
Sources
Image
Image

Painting: Bedford Basin Near Halifax - National Archives of Canada / C-115428
Copyright/Source

Loyalists, the First Refugees (1775 - 1812)

Following the French settlements in Acadia and New France in the 1600s and early 1700s, there was a second major wave of immigration starting in the 1770s. These were British subjects who had originally settled in the Thirteen Colonies, but were more loyal to the British Crown following the start of the American Revolution than the Patriots who would go on to win the war. These new settlers were called the Loyalists, and are considered Canada's first political refugees.

While the majority of these were white, English-speaking settlers who tended to settle in Nova Scotia and the soon-to-be created Upper Canada, there was some black immigration to the Maritimes as well. That's not to speak of Aboriginals given land in Upper Canada for being loyal to the British during the American Revolution.

Topics in this section:

Loyalists Overview
Maritime Loyalists
Absentee Landlords
Black Loyalists
Aboriginal Loyalists
"First Loyalists" or United Empire Loyalists
"Late Loyalists" or "Simcoe's Loyalists"
The Diaries of Elizabeth Simcoe
Other Important or Interesting Documents

Loyalists Overview

With the start of the American Revolution in 1775 within the Thirteen Colonies, many of those loyal to the British cause south of the Québec border faced a dilemma. If they stayed in the Thirteen Colonies and remained loyal to the British, they faced persecution and possible harm from Patriots, who wanted to see the creation of an independent state free of British influence.

As it became more and more apparent that these rebel Patriots would win the Revolution - which they did in 1781 - these Loyalists began to escape to:

  • Britain;

  • British territory in the Caribbean Sea;

  • Québec and Nova Scotia, which were still loyal to Britain.

Maritime Loyalists

Map: New Brunswick, 1784
New Brunswick, 1784

Immediately following the American Revolution, Nova Scotia faced the initial brunt of Loyalist immigration. While the colony only had about 20,000 settlers entering 1783, it suddenly saw its population more than double that year with Loyalist immigration.

These Loyalists were more likely to be highly aristocratic or upper class. They probably settled in the region in order to be closer to their contemporaries and families in Britain. Some 14,000 settled along the Bay of Fundy into the St. John River region in 1783 alone.

The sheer volume of settlers here led the British government to create the colony of New Brunswick in 1784. Nova Scotia and Cape Breton Island were splintered into two separate colonies that same year, too. Cape Breton Island rejoined Nova Scotia in 1820.

Image
 

Regulations to be observed for the orderly and expeditious settlement of New Brunswick, 14th January 1785

READ the summary
Image

Image
 

An Act for the better ascertaining and confirming the boundaries with this province (New Brunswick), 18th May 1785

READ the summary
Image

Image
 

An Act for the registering of ... grants made under the seal of Nova Scotia, of Lands now situated within New Brunswick, 18th May 1785

READ the summary
Image

Image
 

An Act for the registering of all deeds, conveyances and wills, which shall be made of or will affect any lands within New Brunswick, 18th May 1785

READ the summary
Image

Image
 

An Act to authorize the proprietors of certain islands in the River St. John to make rules and regulations for better improvement and cultivation, 3 January 1786

READ the summary
Image


For more information on this topic, please visit the Constitutional History section.


For more information on this topic, please visit the Immigrant Voices Web site.

 

Absentee Landlords

British authorities in Prince Edward Island and Nova Scotia had a particular problem with the sudden influx of Loyalists to the Maritimes.

During the 1760s, the British government had given land in both colonies to soldiers, couriers, politicians and other friends. In turn, these new landlords had to promise to settle the land with farmers in a manner similar to the seigneurial system in New France.

However, most landlords were slow to put this system into place and a great deal of this land still sat vacant by the 1770s. What's more, once a land title had been granted, the British government couldn't easily enforce what that land was to be used for.

This was a particularly thorny issue in Prince Edward Island (PEI), where these landlords were able to trick several hundred Loyalists into settling there. These settlers were usually either Scottish or Irish.

Island landlords promised settlers plots of land for settlement, provided they cleared the land and then build roads and buildings. However, these landlords never intended to keep their promise. They just wanted settlers to do all the hard work for them for free.

This problem wouldn't be solved until 1873, the year when Prince Edward Island joined Confederation.

At that point, the new province followed the recommendation of the Land Commission of 1860 and enacted the Tenants' Compensation Act, 1872. This allowed compensation to be made available to anyone who could prove their Loyalists ancestors had been tricked by absentee landlords.

Did you know?

Thomas Selkirk, the Earl of Selkirk, is perhaps most famous for setting up the Red River Settlement in what's now Manitoba in 1811. However, he also established an earlier Scottish settlement on Prince Edward Island in 1802. It had about 800 settlers.

Absentee landlords in Nova Scotia and Cape Breton Island, on the other hand, simply didn't bother to populate their land with new settlers at all. This led to a land shortage crisis in the early 1780s, considering the massive influx of Loyalists coming into the region. Unlike the situation in Prince Edward Island, however, the British government was able to immediately take some of this land back: about 2.5 million acres out of about 5.5 million acres in total.

In 1783, Britain promised to give:

  • one hundred acres of free land to every Loyalist household head;

  • an additional 50 acres of free land for each extra family member;

  • even more land to those who held a military rank.

The British government also provided free food rations for many years to these Nova Scotia settlers. That's not to mention free tools and building materials to help clear and settle their land.

Image
 

Excerpt from the Tenants' Compensation Act, 1872 (in Enclosure 1 of No. 6)

READ the summary
Image

Black Loyalists

A Black Wood Cutter at Shelburne, Nova Scotia - National Archives of Canada / C-115001
Copyright/Source

During the 1870s, there was also a significant Loyalist immigration of some 3,000 Blacks into British North America. Most went to Nova Scotia.

The British Crown had promised to give any freed black slave in America who fought against the Patriots during the American Revolution freedom, equality and land to settle on in the British colonies.

When these black people arrived from the newly created United States, however, they were given either:

  • land of a smaller or poorer quality than land set aside for white Loyalists;

  • no land at all.

Thomas Peters, a black Loyalist settler, was allowed to go to Britain to plead on behalf of black immigrants to Nova Scotia. While Britain was slow to react on his complaints, he was able to meet up with the Sierra Leone Company, a land firm willing to provide Blacks with free land in Africa.

Ultimately, many black settlers would leave Nova Scotia in the 1790s to start a new life overseas in the new colony of Freetown, Sierra Leone. Some stayed behind to continue their lives in Nova Scotia, though.

Between the 1790s and 1830s, Britain very slowly took steps to outlaw slavery in its colonies. (Slavery was finally abolished in all British colonies by 1833.)

This didn't mean that prejudice and racism disappeared in British North America. It did mean, however, that British North America generally became a more tolerant and free place for black people to settle and live in than the United States, as America didn't outlaw slavery until 1865.

This freedom would later attract more fugitive slaves in the early to mid-1800s in Upper Canada during the period of the Underground Railroad.

Image
 

An Act for encouraging new settlers in his Majesty's Colonies and Plantations in America (1790)

READ the summary
Image

Image
 

An Act to prevent the importation of Slaves to the Colonies (1805)

READ the summary
Image

Image
 

An Act for the abolition of the African Slave Trade (1807)

READ the summary
Image

 

For more information on black Loyalists, please visit Black Loyalists: Our History, Our People online.

 

Aboriginal Loyalists

Some Iroquois who were loyal to the British army, and helped them fight in the American Revolution, got free land in what would soon become Upper Canada in 1784. However, these Aboriginals were shut out of the Treaty of Paris, 1783, which ignored earlier promises involving Aboriginal land.

For more information on this topic, please visit the Aboriginals: Treaties & Relations section.


"First Loyalists" or United Empire Loyalists
By 1784, some 10,000 Loyalists had arrived from the United States in Québec seeking refuge. They had expected to find familiar institutions: British laws, Protestant churches, and freehold land tenure. Instead, they found Catholic churches and unfamiliar French-language political institutions.

British authorities dealt with this problem in two ways:

  • sending most of these Loyalists into the more westerly rural part of the province that would eventually become known in 1791 as Upper Canada;

  • creating new law and governmental institutions alongside the French ones to benefit the remaining Loyalists.

On November 9, 1789, Québec governor Lord Dorchester issued an order in council that gave particular recognition to Loyalists by formally differentiating them from other settlers who had immigrated to the colony after 1783. He allowed them to affix the initials "U.E." after their names so they could be recognized as those who adhered to "the Unity of the Empire".

These settlers are among those referred to as the United Empire Loyalists, though it has since come to include those who settled in the Maritimes prior to the creation of America in 1783 as well.

As a result of Lord Dorchester's order, the sons and daughters of adult Loyalist settlers were also to be given 200 acres of free land when they became 21 years old. (Daughters could claim this land even earlier in life if they married before turning 21).

Image
 

Summary of Lord Dorchester's Order In Council regarding United Empire Loyalists, November 9, 1789 (No. 6)

READ the summary
Image

For more information on this topic, please visit the Constitutional History section.


For more information on the Loyalists, please visit The Canadian Encyclopedia online.

 

"Late Loyalists" or "Simcoe's Loyalists"
In 1791, John Graves Simcoe became the first lieutenant-governor of Upper Canada. After obtaining land from the Aboriginals, he began an aggressive campaign to attract:

  • former military officers living in the Maritimes who were loyal to Britain.

  • Americans living in what was now called the United States, particularly from New York and Pennsylvania.

He attracted American settlers by offering cheap land and other kinds of assistance, like food, clothing, building materials and seeds.

Simcoe extended his invitation to those who were neutral and hadn't taken up arms against the British during the American Revolution. He was particularly targeting those who:

  • were unhappy with life in the newly-created United States;

  • wanted to obtain fairly inexpensive land in Canada.

Many historians now feel, though, that most of these U.S. immigrants remained somewhat sympathetic to the ideals of American republicanism well after their arrival, and came not out of loyalty to Britain, but out of forwarding their own self-interests. It is now felt that this does not necessarily make them true "Loyalists".

For instance, members of several pacifist religious sects, like Quakers and Mennonites, came to Upper Canada from America during this period when Simcoe offered them an exemption from having to take part in future military service. While one can admire the moral or religious convictions of these settlers in opposing war, it can be argued that they came to Upper Canada for the sole purpose of avoiding compulsory military service, not out of a sense of loyalty to British interests.

Nevertheless, Americans of various ethnic decent continued to arrive until the War of 1812 began. This is not to speak of the fact that Americans immigrants, who had been designated as being United Empire Loyalists by Lord Dorchester in 1789 (see "First Loyalists" above), had already migrated to the region. Some United Empire Loyalists were living in "Upper Canada" as early as 1781 (a full decade before the province was created) around the Niagara Peninsula.

All of these American settlers generally lived on the north shores of Lakes Erie and Ontario or in the uppermost reaches of the St. Lawrence River valley system well to the southwest of the Montréal region.

By 1800, Upper Canada's population had grown to 50,000 from about 12,000 in 1791. By 1815, the population grew to 95,000. About 80 per cent of those living in the colony around this time had been born in America.

Did you know?

While a great deal of attention is given to United Empire Loyalists in Upper Canada, a small but significant amount of immigrants to the region - about 10 per cent - were actually German.

 

The Diaries of Elizabeth Simcoe

 

Painting: Elizabeth Simcoe - National Archives of Canada / C-081931
Copyright/Source

Elizabeth Simcoe - the wife of John Graves Simcoe, Upper Canada's first lieutenant-governor - kept diaries and sketches of her life in Upper Canada during the late 1700s. They remain some of the earliest examples of recorded pioneer history in what's now called Ontario.

For more information on Upper Canada treaties with the Aboriginals, please visit the Aboriginals: Treaties & Relations section.


For more information about Upper Canada Loyalists, please visit the Immigrant Voices Web site.

Other Important or Interesting Documents

 

Previous page

Image
Image
  ImageTop of Page Image
Image Image
Image

AccueilCarte du siteIndex du siteComment utiliser ce siteLexiqueContactez-nousRemerciements Image
Le Canada en devenir
Le Canada en devenirAboriginals: Treaties & Relations
Sources primaires
Ressources du professeur
Consultation rapide
Événements et sujets spécifiques
Cartes & images
English
Image
Image
Thèmes:
Histoire de la constitution
Image
Autochtones : Traités et relations
Image
Pionniers et Immigrants

1497 - 1760
1608 - 1763
1775 - 1812
1811 - 1870
1814 - 1830
1830 - 1867
1842 - 1903
1851 - 1885
1870 - 1896
1896 - 1914
Sources
Image
Image

Bassin de Bedford, près de Halifax - Archives nationales du Canada / C-115428
Droit d'auteur/Source

Les loyalistes, les premiers réfugiés (1775 - 1812)

Après l’établissement des premières colonies françaises en Acadie et en Nouvelle-France au cours des années 1600 et au début des années 1700, une seconde grande vague d’immigration commença dans les années 1770. C’étaient des sujets britanniques originaires des treize colonies, mais qui étaient plus fidèles à la Couronne britannique dès le début de la Révolution américaine que les patriotes qui remporteraient la victoire. Ces nouveaux colons, appelés loyalistes, sont considérés comme les premiers réfugiés politiques du Canada.

Bien que la majorité d’entre eux étaient des colons blancs de langue anglaise qui avaient tendance à s’établir en Nouvelle-Écosse et dans ce qui deviendrait le Haut-Canada, quelques immigrants noirs ont aussi émigré dans les Maritimes. C’est sans parler des autochtones qui avaient reçu des terres dans le Haut-Canada car ils sont restés fidèles aux Britanniques durant la Révolution américaine.

Sujets abordés dans cette section :

Aperçu des loyalistes
Les loyalistes des Maritimes
Les propriétaires absentéistes
Les loyalistes noirs
Les loyalistes autochtones
« Les premiers loyalistes » ou les loyalistes de l’Empire-Uni
« Les derniers loyalistes » ou les « loyalistes de Simcoe »
Les journaux intimes de Elizabeth Simcoe
Autres documents importants ou intéressants

Aperçu des loyalistes

Avec l’avènement de la Révolution américaine dans les treize colonies en 1775, beaucoup de sujets demeurés loyaux à la cause des Britanniques au sud de la frontière québécoise faisaient face à un dilemme. S’ils voulaient rester dans les treize colonies et demeurer fidèles aux Britanniques, ils risquaient la persécution et devraient possiblement affronter le danger aux mains des patriotes qui souhaitaient la création d’un État indépendant et libre de l’influence britannique.

Comme il devenait de plus en plus évident que ces patriotes rebelles allaient gagner la Révolution – ce qui arriva en 1781 – ces loyalistes ont commencé à s’enfuir vers :

  • la Grande-Bretagne;

  • le territoire britannique dans la mer des Caraïbes;

  • le Québec et la Nouvelle-Écosse qui étaient toujours fidèles à la Grande-Bretagne.

 

Les loyalistes des Maritimes

Nouveau-Brunswick, 1784
Nouveau-Brunswick, 1784

Immédiatement après la Révolution américaine, la Nouvelle-Écosse reçu le premier choc de l’immigration loyaliste. Alors que la colonie ne comptait qu’environ 20,000 colons au début de 1783, elle vit soudainement sa population plus que doubler au cours de l’année avec l’arrivée des immigrants loyalistes.

En général, ces loyalistes étaient issus de l’aristocratie ou des classes supérieures. Ils se sont sans doute établis dans la région afin de se rapprocher de leurs contemporains et de leurs familles en Grande-Bretagne. Durant la seule année de 1783, quelques 14,000 d’entre eux se sont installés dans la baie de Fundy et dans la région de la rivière Saint-Jean.

Le nombre des colons y était si élevé que le gouvernement britannique décida de créer la colonie du Nouveau-Brunswick en 1784. La Nouvelle-Écosse et l’île du Cap-Breton furent aussi divisées en deux colonies distinctes au cours de cette même année. L’île du Cap-Breton fut réunifiée avec la Nouvelle-Écosse en 1820.

Image
 

Regulations to be observed for the orderly and expeditious settlement of New Brunswick, 14th January 1785

READ the summary
Image

Image
 

An Act for the better ascertaining and confirming the boundaries with this province (New Brunswick), 18th May 1785

READ the summary
Image

Image
 

An Act for the registering of all deeds, conveyances and wills, which shall be made of or will affect any lands within New Brunswick, 18th May 1785

READ the summary
Image

Image
 

An Act to authorize the proprietors of certain islands in the River St. John to make rules and regulations for better improvement and cultivation, 3 January 1786

READ the summary
Image

 

Pour en savoir plus sur ce sujet, veuillez visiter la section Histoire de la Constitution.


Pour en savoir plus sur ce sujet, veuillez visiter le site Web bilingue Immigrant Voices.


Les propriétaires absentéistes


Les autorités britanniques de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard et de la Nouvelle-Écosse ont dû faire face à un problème particulier avec l’affluence soudaine des loyalistes dans les Maritimes.

Durant les années 1760, le gouvernement britannique avait accordé des terres dans ces deux colonies à des soldats, messagers, hommes politiques et autres amis. En retour, ces nouveaux propriétaires fonciers devaient promettre de coloniser des terres en y établissant des fermiers, de la même manière que le système seigneurial en Nouvelle-France.

Toutefois, la plupart des propriétaires fonciers furent lents à implanter ce système et une grande partie de ces terres sont demeurées vacantes jusque dans les années 1770. De plus, une fois qu’un titre de propriété foncière était accordé, le gouvernement britannique pouvait difficilement imposer des règles quant à l’usage de cette terre.

La question était particulièrement épineuse dans l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard (I.-P.-É.) où ces propriétaires fonciers avaient réussi à tromper plusieurs centaines de loyalistes en les encourageant à s’y établir. Ces colons étaient généralement d’origine écossaise ou irlandaise.

Les propriétaires fonciers de l’île avaient promis aux colons des lots de terre pour la colonisation, pourvu qu’ils défrichent la terre, puis qu’ils y construisent des routes et des bâtiments. Mais ces propriétaires n’ont jamais eu l’intention de respecter leurs promesses. Leur seul but était de voir les colons effectuer gratuitement tous les grands travaux pour eux.

Ce problème ne fut pas résolu avant 1873, l’année où l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard se joignit à la Confédération.

À ce moment, la nouvelle province a suivi les recommandations de la Commission des terres de 1860 et a décrété la Loi d’indemnisation des tenanciers, 1872. Cette loi a permis qu’une indemnisation soit accordée à quiconque pouvait prouver que leurs ancêtres loyalistes avaient été trompés par les propriétaires absentéistes.

Did you know?

Thomas Selkirk, le lord Selkirk, est sans doute mieux connu pour avoir fondé, en 1811, la colonie de la Rivière-Rouge dans ce qui est maintenant le Manitoba. Mais, en 1802, il avait aussi établi une colonie écossaise plus ancienne sur l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard. Elle comptait environ 800 colons.

 

Par contre, les propriétaires absentéistes de la Nouvelle-Écosse et de l’île du Cap-Breton ne se sont tout simplement pas souciés d’établir de nouveaux colons sur leurs terres. Cette situation mena à une pénurie de terres au début des années 1780 en raison de l’affluence massive des loyalistes arrivant dans la région. Mais, contrairement à la situation dans l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard, le gouvernement britannique a pu reprendre immédiatement quelques-unes de ces terres : environ 2,5 millions d’acres sur près de 5,5 millions d’acres au total.

En 1783, la Grande-Bretagne avait promis d’accorder :

  • cent acres de terres gratuitement à chaque chef de famille loyaliste;

  • 50 acres supplémentaires de terres gratuitement pour chaque membre additionnel d’une famille;

  • encore plus de terres à ceux qui possédaient un rang militaire.

Le gouvernement britannique a aussi fourni des provisions gratuites de nourriture durant plusieurs années à ces colons de la Nouvelle-Écosse. De plus, ils reçurent des outils et des matériaux de construction gratuits afin de les aider à défricher et à développer leurs terres.

Image
 

Excerpt from the Tenants' Compensation Act, 1872

READ the summary
Image

Image
 

Copy of the Address ... praying for the appointment of a commission into existing relations of landlord and tenant in Prince Edward Island), 9th May 1859

 
Image

Image
 

Extract from the "Island Argus" of April 18, 1871 (éditorial du journal sur le projet de loi sur les tenanciers fonciers dans la troisième pièce jointe du no 1.)

 
Image

Image
 

Correspondence relative to the land tenure question in Prince Edward Island

 
Image

Image
 

Further correspondence relative to the land tenure question in Prince Edward Island, August 1875

 
Image

Image
 

Further correspondence relative to the land tenure question in Prince Edward Island, April 1876

 
Image

 

Les loyalistes noirs

 

Un bûcheron noir à Shelburne, en Novelle-Écosse - Archives nationales du Canada / C-115001
Copyright/Source

 

Durant les années 1870, il y a eu aussi une immigration loyaliste assez considérable de quelque 3,000 Noirs en Amérique du Nord britannique. La plupart se sont installés en Nouvelle-Écosse.

La Couronne britannique avait promis de donner la liberté, l’égalité et une terre pour s’établir dans les colonies britanniques à tout esclave affranchi en Amérique qui s’est battu contre les patriotes durant la Révolution américaine.

Mais lorsque ces Noirs sont arrivés des États-Unis nouvellement créés, ils reçurent :

  • soit une terre plus petite ou de qualité moindre que celles mises de côté pour les loyalistes blancs;

  • soit aucune terre.

Thomas Peters, un colon loyaliste noir, reçu la permission de se rendre en Grande-Bretagne afin de plaider la cause des immigrants noirs en Nouvelle-Écosse. Alors que la Grande-Bretagne fut lente à réagir à ses plaintes, il a s’est retrouvé avec la Compagnie de Sierra Leone, une entreprise prête à accorder aux Noirs des terres gratuites en Afrique.

En fin de compte, beaucoup de colons noirs quitteraient la Nouvelle-Écosse au cours des années 1790 pour entreprendre une nouvelle vie outre-mer, dans la nouvelle colonie de Freetown, en Sierra Leone. Mais quelques-uns décidèrent de demeurer en Nouvelle-Écosse pour y vivre.

Entre 1790 et les années 1830, la Grande-Bretagne fit quelques pas lents pour proscrire l’esclavage dans ses colonies. (L’esclavage fut finalement aboli dans toutes les colonies britanniques en 1833.)

Cela ne veut pas dire que les préjugés et le racisme étaient disparus en Amérique du Nord britannique. L’Amérique du Nord britannique est toutefois devenue un endroit plus tolérant et offrait plus de liberté aux Noirs qui choisissaient de venir s’y établir et y vivre plutôt qu’aux États-Unis, puisque l’Amérique n’a aboli l’esclavage qu’en 1865.

Éventuellement, entre le début et le milieu du XIXe siècle, cette liberté allait attirer d’autres esclaves fugitifs vers le Haut-Canada, à l’époque du chemin de fer clandestin.

 

Image
 

An Act for encouraging new settlers in his Majesty's Colonies and Plantations in America (1790)

READ the summary
Image

Image
 

An Act to prevent the importation of Slaves to the Colonies (1805)

READ the summary
Image

Image
 

An Act for the abolition of the African Slave Trade (1807)

READ the summary
Image

 

Pour en savoir plus sur les loyalistes noirs, veuillez visiter le site Black Loyalists : Our History, Our People.

 

Les loyalistes autochtones

Des Iroquois qui sont demeurés fidèles à l’armée britannique et ont combattu à leurs côtés durant la Révolution américaine ont reçu gratuitement, en 1784, des terres dans ce qui deviendrait bientôt le Haut-Canada. Mais ces autochtones furent écartés du traité de Paris, 1783 qui ignora les promesses antérieures concernant les terres autochtones.

Pour en savoir plus sur ce sujet, veuillez visiter la section Autochtones : traités et relations.

 

Les « premiers loyalistes » ou les loyalistes de l’Empire-Uni
Avant 1783, quelques 10,000 loyalistes sont arrivés des États-Unis pour se réfugier au Québec. Ils s’attendaient d’y trouver des institutions familières : le droit anglais, des églises protestantes et des terres en franche tenure. Au lieu de cela, ils ont trouvé des églises catholiques et des institutions politiques de langue française qui leur étaient inconnues.

Les autorités britanniques résolurent ce problème de deux façons :

  • en envoyant la plupart de ces loyalistes dans les milieux ruraux situés plus à l’ouest de la province, région qui deviendrait éventuellement le Haut-Canada en 1791;

  • en créant des nouvelles lois et des institutions gouvernementales parallèles à celles des Français pour le profit des loyalistes qui sont restés.

Le 9 novembre 1789, le gouverneur de Québec, Lord Dorchester, a émis un arrêté en conseil pour reconnaître les loyalistes de façon particulière en les distinguant officiellement des autres colons ayant immigrés dans la colonie après 1783. Il leur permit d’ajouter les initiales « U.E. » après leurs noms afin qu’ils soient reconnus pour avoir adhéré à l’ « unité de l’Empire ».

Ces colons comptaient parmi ceux appelés les loyalistes de l’Empire-Uni quoique, depuis lors, tous ceux qui se sont installés dans les Maritimes avant la création de l’Amérique en 1783 sont aussi considérés comme tels.

En conséquence de l’arrêté en conseil de Lord Dorchester, les fils et les filles de colons loyalistes adultes étaient aussi en droit de recevoir 200 acres de terres gratuites en atteignant l’âge de 21 ans. (Les filles pouvaient réclamer cette terre plus tôt encore si elles se mariaient avant l’âge de 21 ans.)

Image
 

Summary of Lord Dorchester's Order In Council regarding United Empire Loyalists, November 9, 1789 (No 6)

READ the summary
Image

Pour en savoir plus sur ce sujet, veuillez visiter la section Histoire de la Constitution.


Pour en savoir plus sur les loyalistes, veuillez visiter le site de L’Encyclopédie canadienne en ligne.

 

Les « derniers loyalistes » ou les « loyalistes de Simcoe »
En 1791, John Graves Simcoe est devenu le premier lieutenant-gouverneur du Haut-Canada. Après avoir obtenu des terres des autochtones, il entreprit une campagne agressive visant à attirer :

  • d’anciens officiers de l’armée résidant dans les Maritimes qui étaient demeurés fidèles à la Grande-Bretagne;

  • des Américains vivant dans ce qui sont aujourd’hui les États-Unis, surtout ceux de New York et de Pennsylvanie.

Il a attiré des colons américains en leur offrant des terres à bon marché et d’autres produits de subsistance, tels que de la nourriture, des vêtements, des outils de construction et du grain.

Simcoe étendit son invitation à ceux qui étaient restés neutres et qui n’avaient pas pris les armes contres les Britanniques durant la Révolution américaine. Il visaient en particulier ceux qui :

  • n’étaient pas heureux de vivre dans les États-Unis nouvellement créés;

  • voulaient obtenir des terres au Canada pour un prix modique.

Plusieurs historiens croient toutefois que la plupart des ces immigrants américains sont demeurés à un certain point sympathiques aux idéologies républicaines des États-Unis bien après leur arrivée, et qu’ils sont venus, non pas parce qu’ils ont fait preuve de loyauté envers la Grande-Bretagne, mais plutôt pour satisfaire leurs propres intérêts. Il est maintenant admis qu’ils ne doivent pas nécessairement êtres reconnus comme étant de vrais « loyalistes ».

Par exemple, les membres des plusieurs sectes religieuses pacifistes, comme les quakers et les mennonites, ont quitté l’Amérique pour le Haut-Canada au cours de cette période lorsque Simcoe leur a offert, à l’avenir, une dispense du service militaire. Alors que nous pouvons admirer les convictions morales et religieuses de ces colons qui s’opposent à la guerre, il peut être argumenté qu’ils sont venus dans le Haut-Canada dans le seul but d’échapper au service militaire obligatoire, et non pas parce qu’ils s’étaient montrés loyaux envers les intérêts britanniques.

Néanmoins, les Américains de diverses origines ethniques ont continué à venir jusqu’au début de la guerre de 1812. C’est sans parler du fait que des immigrants américains, ceux qui avaient été désignés comme des loyalistes de l’Empire-Uni par Lord Dorchester en 1789 (voir « Les premiers Loyales » plus haut), avaient déjà migré dans la région. Il y avait des loyalistes de l’Empire-Uni qui vivaient dans le « Haut-Canada » dès 1781 (toute une décennie avant la création de la province) autour de la péninsule du Niagara.

Tous ces colons américains résidaient, en général, sur la rive nord des lacs Érié et Ontario ou dans les plus hautes parties de la vallée du Saint-Laurent, bien au sud-ouest de la région de Montréal.

La population du Haut-Canada était passée de 12,000 en 1791 à 50,000 en 1800. Avant 1815, la population atteindrait 95,000. Environ 80 pour cent des gens vivant dans la colonie à cette époque étaient nés en Amérique.

Did you know?

Alors que beaucoup d’attention est accordée aux loyalistes de l’Empire-Uni du Haut-Canada, un nombre peu élevé mais significatif d’immigrants dans la région, environ 10 pour cent, étaient en fait des Allemands.

 

Les journaux intimes de Elizabeth Simcoe

Elizabeth Simcoe - Archives nationales du Canada / C-081931
Droit d'auteur/Source

Elizabeth Simcoe, l’épouse du premier lieutenant-gouverneur du Haut-Canada, John Graves Simcoe, consigna dans ses journaux intimes des esquisses de sa vie dans le Haut-Canada à la fin des années 1700. Ces journaux demeurent parmi les premiers exemples de descriptions de l’histoire pionnière dans ce qui est aujourd’hui l’Ontario.

Image
 

A Simcoe relic among the Thousand Isles in 1796 : fragment of a MS. journal of Mrs. Simcoe

 
Image

Pour en savoir plus sur les traités du Haut-Canada avec les autochtones, veuillez visiter la section Autochtones : traités et relations.


Pour en savoir plus sur ce sujet, veuillez visiter le site Web bilingue Immigrant Voices.

 

Autres documents importants ou intéressants

Page précédente

Image
Image
  ImageHaut de page Image
Image Image
Image