Home PageSite MapSite IndexHow to Use This SiteGlossaryContact Us Acknowledgements Image
Canada in the Making
Canada in the MakingConstitutional History
Primary Sources
Teachers' Resources
Biographies & Reference
Specific Events & Topics
Maps & Images
Français
Image
Image
Themes:
Constitutional History
Image
Aboriginals
1608 - 1759
1749 - 1759
1759 - 1763
1763 - 1774
1774 - 1791
1791 - 1837 (1)
1791 - 1837 (2)
1837 - 1839
1839 - 1850
1850 - 1867
1867 - 1931 (1)
1867 - 1931 (2)
1931 - 1982
1982 - 2002
Documents

Aboriginals: Treaties & Relations
Image
Pionniers et Immigrants
Image
Image

Lithograph: City of Ottawa, Canada West, ca. 1859 - NAC/ANC C-002813
Copyright/Source

1850 - 1867:
On the Road to Confederation

Once responsible government had been won, there were a number of issues still affecting politics in the British North American colonies. One of the most contradictory and ironic was the desire to split the union of the Canadas again. French Canadian politicians resisted this at first, but the political debate that followed led to the birth of the Dominion of Canada in 1867, and its modern Constitution.

Topics in this section:

"Rep by pop"
Barriers to Expansion
Expensive Railways
Calls for a Federation
The American Civil War
Maritime Union and the Charlottetown and Québec Conferences
The Fenian Raids
The London Conference
Other Interesting or Important Documents

"Rep by Pop"
Due to heavy immigration, the population of English-speaking inhabitants of Canada West soon outstripped Canada East. Under the Act of Union, 1840, however, the seats in the house were evenly divided between Canada East and Canada West. This led to calls in Upper Canada for representation by population, or "rep by pop."

Barriers to Expansion
By the late 1850s, all the farmable land in Canada West had been sold. The next frontier lay west of Lake Superior, in the lands owned by the Hudson's Bay Company. Most in Canada East resisted the annexation of this land, as it would have changed the balance of the seats in the legislature.

Lithograph: Grand Trunk Railway of Canada Victoria Bridge over the River St. Lawrence at Montreal, 1860 - NAC/ANC C-005780
Copyright/Source

Expensive Railways
The Grand Trunk Railway incurred enormous debts in the 1850s. By 1860, it was $72 million in debt, at a time when the average annual income (per capita) was around $200. Partly because of this experience, the Province of Canada pulled out of the negotiations for the Intercolonial Railway linking Nova Scotia, New Brunswick and Canada.

Photograph: Alexander Galt, 1869 - NAC/ANC PA-013008
Copyright/Source

Calls for a Federation
Starting in the 1850s calls for a federal union of all the British colonies in North America began to get stronger. It was seen by many, including the British, as a way to strengthen the colonies and to deal with the many problems that had arisen since the Act of Union in 1840. One of the leaders was John A. Macdonald, who led several coalition governments.

Image
 

Galt's Resolutions on Federation, 1858
(Calls for a federal union including the Maritime provinces and territories in the west.)

READ the summary
Image

Image
 

Cartier, Ross and Galt to Lytton, 23rd October, 1858
(Propose a federal union.)

READ the summary
Image

Image
 

Canadian Negotiations for Federation, 1864
(The Great Coalition is formed.)

READ the summary
Image

Image
 

Papers relating to Confederation of British North American provinces
(Britain states commitment to Confederation and discusses matters of defence and lands held by the Hudson's Bay Company.)

Image

Did you know?

George-Étienne Cartier was co-premier with John A. Macdonald from 1858 to 1862. Macdonald is the most famous Father of Confederation, and received much of the credit for forming the new nation. When Macdonald became the first prime minister in 1867 (and became Sir John A. Macdonald), Cartier was his most senior minister.

The American Civil War
This caused problems for a railway that was seen as necessary for defence. The American Civil War had caused tension between Britain and the Northern States. The victory of the North in the Civil War increased British concerns, as it was expected to lead to a more aggressive government in the United States.

A federation of British North American colonies became more attractive to Britain. It was believed that such a federation would be stronger and, most importantly, provide for the cost of its own defence. Until then, Canada had steadfastly refused to pay anything for its own defence - apart from the poorly trained militia.


Did you know?

When Britain sent 14,000 troops as a precaution, they were forced to march 1100 kilometres in winter because the Intercolonial Railway was unfinished.

 

To learn more about the effect of the American Civil War on Confederation:


Photograph: Province House and Market Building, 1865 - NAC/ANC PA-126836
Copyright/Source

Maritime Union and the Charlottetown and Québec Conferences
Maritime Union was a popular idea with the New Brunswick governor, Arthur Gordon Hamilton, for the same reasons that Britain favoured a union of all the British North American colonies. In 1864, there were suggestions for a conference including New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, Prince Edward Island and Newfoundland. The idea interested Canadian politicians, and in September, 1864, they joined the Charlottetown Conference.

This conference was such a success that the Québec Conference followed it a month later. The Seventy-Two Resolutions drafted at the end of the conference formed the nucleus for the future Constitution of Canada. The resolutions:

  • Proposed limited central government balanced by provincial power.

  • Rejected the strict application of "rep by pop."

  • Called for a two-chamber parliament, including a senate and a house of commons.
Image
 

The Québec Resolutions, 1864

READ the summary
Image


To learn more about the Charlottetown Conference:

To learn more about the Québec Conference:

Photograph: The Pigeon Hill (Eccles Hill) camp of the 60th Battalion which played a major part in the Fenian Raid of 25 May 1870 - NAC/ANC C-033036
Copyright/Source

The Fenian Invasions
Despite the success of the conferences, the proposed union was widely unpopular in the Maritime provinces. In 1866, however, activists in the Fenian Order invaded Canada with 1,000 men. Although these attacks did not seriously threaten the British North American colonies, they pushed the Maritime provinces to seek federation.


Did you know?

The Fenians were Irish-American immigrants who formed an order to support the independence of Ireland, which was then occupied by Britain. Canada, as a British colony, was seen as a legitimate target.

The London Conference
With the momentum in favour of a federation, the British invited delegates from each of the provinces to London to negotiate. Some opponents of federation also attended, but by early 1867, the British North America Act was ready.

Image
 

London Resolutions, 1866
(Repeat the Québec Resolutions of 1864, with small changes.)

Image

Image
 

Mr. Joseph Howe, Mr. William Annand, and Mr. Hugh McDonald to the Earl of Carnarvon, January 19, 1867
(Lists objections to the proposed union of the British North American provinces.)

READ the summary
Image


To learn more about the London Conference:

To learn more about Confederation:


Photograph: Delegates who gathered at the Charlottetown Conference to consider the confederation of the British North American colonies, 1864 - NAC/ANC PA-091061
Copyright/Source

Other Important or Interesting Documents

Previous page

Image
Image
  ImageTop of Page Image
Image Image
Image

AccueilCarte du siteIndex du siteComment utiliser ce siteLexiqueContactez-nousRemerciements Image
Le Canada en devenir
Le Canada en devenirHistoire de la constitution
Sources primaires
Ressources du professeur
Consultation rapide
Événements et sujets spécifiques
Cartes & images
English
Image
Image
Thèmes:
Histoire de la constitution
Image
Aboriginaux
1608 - 1759
1749 - 1759
1759 - 1763
1763 - 1774
1774 - 1791
1791 - 1837 (1)
1791 - 1837 (2)
1837 - 1839
1839 - 1850
1850 - 1867
1867 - 1931 (1)
1867 - 1931 (2)
1931 - 1982
1982 - 2002
Documents

Autochtones : Traités et relations
Image
Pionniers et Immigrants
Image
Image

Lithographie : Ville d'Ottawa, Ouest du Canada, vers 1859 - NAC/ANC C-002813
Droit d'auteur/Source

1850 à 1867 :
Sur la voie de la Confédération

Une fois que le gouvernement responsable a été obtenu, beaucoup de questions ont continué d'influer sur la politique dans les colonies d'Amérique du Nord britannique. L'une des questions les plus contradictoires et ironiques était le désir de séparer à nouveau les Canadas. Les politiciens canadiens-français étaient réticents au début, mais le débat politique qui a suivi a mené à la naissance du Dominion du Canada en 1867 et à sa Constitution moderne.

Sujets abordés dans cette section :

" Rep by pop "
Obstacles à l'expansion
Chemins de fer coûteux
On exige une fédération
La guerre de Sécession
L'union des Maritimes et les conférences de Charlottetown et de Québec
L'invasion des Fenians
La conférence de Londres
Autres documents intéressants ou importants

"Rep by Pop"
En raison d'une immigration importante, la population anglophones de Canada-Ouest a rapidement dépassé celle de Canada-Est. Toutefois en vertu de l'Acte d'Union de 1840, les sièges en Chambre étaient divisés également entre le Canada-fst et le Canada-Ouest. Cela a poussé le Haut-Canada à demander la représentation selon la population, ou " rep by pop ".

Obstacles à l'expansion
À la fin des années 1850, toutes les terres cultivables de Canada-Ouest avaient été vendues. La prochaine frontière se trouvait à l'ouest du lac Supérieur, dans les terres appartenant à la Compagnie de la Baie d'Hudson. La plupart des gens de Canada-fst ont résisté à l'annexion de ce territoire puisqu'il aurait changé l'équilibre des sièges à la Législature.

Lithographie : Le pont Victoria, de la Grand Trunk Railway Co. of Canada, qui traverse le fleuve Saint- Laurent à Montréal, 1860 - NAC/ANC C-005780
Droit d'auteur/Source

Chemins de fer coûteux
Le chemin de fer du Grand Tronc a accumulé une dette énorme dans les années 1850. En 1860, sa dette se chiffrait à 72 millions $. C'est en partie pour cette raison que la province du Canada s'est retirée des négociations visant le Chemin de fer Intercolonial reliant la Nouvelle-Écosse, le Nouveau-Brunswick et le Canada.

Photo : Alexander Galt, 1869 - NAC/ANC PA-013008
Droit d'auteur/Source

On exige une fédération
À partir des années 1850, on a commencé à réclamer de plus en plus l'union fédérale de toutes les colonies britanniques en Amérique du Nord. Plusieurs, y compris les Britanniques, y voyaient un moyen de renforcer les colonies et de régler les nombreux problèmes ayant découlé de l'Acte d'Union de 1840. Un des chefs du mouvement était John A. Macdonald qui a dirigé plusieurs gouvernements de coalition.

Image
 

Galt's Resolutions on Federation, 1858
(On réclame une union fédérale regroupant les provinces maritimes et les territoires de l'Ouest.)

LIRE le sommaire
Image

Image
 

Cartier, Ross and Galt to Lytton, 23rd October, 1858
(On propose une union fédérale.)

LIRE le sommaire
Image

Image
 

Canadian Negotiations for Federation, 1864
(On forme la Grande coalition.)

LIRE le sommaire
Image

Image
 

Papers relating to Confederation of British North American provinces
(La Grande-Bretagne exprime son engagement à la Confédération et discute des questions de la défense et des terres appartenant à la Compagnie de la Baie d'Hudson.)

Image

Le saviez-vous?

George-Étienne Cartier a été co-premier ministre avec John A. Macdonald de 1858 à 1862. Macdonald est le plus célèbre Père de la Confédération et a obtenu la plus grande partie du crédit pour la formation de la nouvelle nation. Lorsque Macdonald est devenu le premier premier ministre en 1867 (et est devenu Sir John A. Macdonald), Cartier était son principal ministre.

La guerre de Sécession
Cette guerre a posé des problèmes touchant un chemin de fer perçu comme nécessaire à la défense. La guerre de Sécession avait causé des tensions entre la Grande-Bretagne et les États du Nord. La victoire du Nord dans la guerre de Sécession a accentué les inquiétudes britanniques, puisqu'on s'attendait à ce les États-Unis se dotent d'un gouvernement plus agressif.

Une fédération des colonies britanniques d'Amérique du Nord est devenue plus séduisante aux yeux de la Grande-Bretagne. On croyait qu'une telle fédération serait plus puissante et, ce qui est plus important encore, assumerait les coûts de sa propre défense. Jusqu'alors, le Canada avait fermement refusé de payer quoi que ce soit pour sa propre défense - à part une milice mal entraînée.


Le saviez-vous?

Lorsque la Grande-Bretagne a envoyé 14 000 soldats par mesure de précaution, ils ont dû marcher 1 100 kilomètres en hiver parce que le chemin de fer Intercolonial n'était pas achevé.

 

Pour en apprendre davantage sur les effets de la guerre de Sécession sur la Confédération :


Photo : Maison Province House et édifice du marché, 1865 - NAC/ANC PA-126836
Droit d'auteur/Source

L'union des Maritimes et les conférences de Charlottetown et de Québec
L'union des Maritimes était une idée qui plaisait au gouverneur du Nouveau-Brunswick, Arthur Gordon Hamilton, pour la même raison qui poussait la Grande-Bretagne à favoriser une union de toutes les colonies britanniques d'Amérique du Nord. En 1864, on a suggéré une conférence incluant le Nouveau-Brunswick, la Nouvelle-Écosse, l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard et Terre-Neuve. L'idée intéressait les politiciens canadiens et, en septembre 1864, ils se sont joints à la conférence de Charlottetown.

Cette conférence a connu un tel succès que la conférence de Québec l'a suivie un mois plus tard. Les soixante-douze résolutions rédigées à la fin de la conférence formaient le noyau de la future Constitution du Canada. Les résolutions :

  • proposaient un gouvernement central limité ayant pour contrepoids les pouvoirs provinciaux;

  • rejetaient l'application stricte de la représentation selon la population;

  • exigeaient un Parlement à deux Chambres, soit un Sénat et une Chambre des communes.
Image
 

The Québec Resolutions, 1864

LIRE le sommaire
Image


Pour en apprendre davantage sur la conférence de Charlottetown :

Pour en apprendre davantage sur la conférence de Québec :

Photo : Le campement de Pigeon Hill (Eccles Hill) du 60e bataillon, qui a joué une rôle important dans l'invasion des Fenians du 25 mai 1870 - NAC/ANC C-033036
Droit d'auteur/Source

L'invasion des Fenians
Malgré le succès remporté par les conférences, l'union proposée était très impopulaire dans les provinces maritimes. Toutefois, en 1866, les activistes du mouvement Fenian ont envahi le Canada avec 1 000 hommes. Même si ces attaques ne menaçaient pas sérieusement les colonies britanniques d'Amérique du Nord, elles ont poussé les provinces maritimes à chercher une fédération.


Le saviez-vous?

Les Fenians étaient des immigrants américano-irlandais qui avaient formé un mouvement pour appuyer l'indépendance de l'Irlande, alors occupée par la Grande-Bretagne. Le Canada, à titre de colonie britannique, était perçu comme une cible légitime.

La conférence de Londres
Profitant de l'élan en faveur d'une fédération, les Britanniques ont invité des délégués de chaque province à Londres pour négocier. Certains opposants à la fédération y ont également assisté, mais au début de 1867, l'Acte de l'Amérique du Nord britannique était prêt.

Image
 

Mr. Joseph Howe, Mr. William Annand, and Mr. Hugh McDonald to the Earl of Carnarvon, January 19, 1867
(Liste des objections à l'union proposée des provinces de l'Amérique du Nord britannique.)

LIRE le sommaire
Image


Pour en apprendre davantage sur la conférence de Londres :

Pour en apprendre davantage sur la Confédération :


Photo : Délégués réunis à la Conférence de Charlottetown pour envisager la confédération des colonies britanniques d'Amérique du Nord, 1864 - NAC/ANC PA-091061
Droit d'auteur/Source

Autres documents intéressants ou importants

Page précédente

Image
Image
  ImageHaut de page Image
Image Image
Image