Home PageSite MapSite IndexHow to Use This SiteGlossaryContact Us Acknowledgements Image
Canada in the Making
Canada in the MakingAboriginals: Treaties & Relations
Primary Sources
Teachers' Resources
Quick Reference
Specific Events & Topics
Maps & Images
Français
Image
Image
Themes:
Constitutional History
Image
Aboriginals: Treaties & Relations
Image
1492 - 1779
1763 - 1791
1764 - 1836
1811 - 1867
1867 - 1870
1871 - 1875
1876 - 1877
1878 - 1898
1899 - 1922
1923 - 1950
1951 - 1981
1982 - 2003
Sources

Pionniers et Immigrants
Image
Image

Photo: Blood Indian pow-wow dance - NAC/ANC C-024276
Copyright/Source

1876 - 1877: The Indian Act, 1876 and Numbered Treaties Six and Seven

Two important events happened in 1876 that had an effect on Aboriginal history in Canada. One was the signing of Numbered Treaty Six, which was arguably the most important and controversial treaty signed during the 1800s. It allowed, for the first time, an Indian agent to keep a medicine chest in his home, a move some Aboriginals later interpreted as a promise by the government to provide free health care. The second was the passing of the Indian Act, which effectively made all Aboriginals wards of the state.

Topics in this section:

The Indian Act, 1876
Treaty Number Six, 1876
Treaty Number Seven, 1877
Other Interesting or Important Documents

The Indian Act, 1876
Once a majority of Aboriginals living on the Prairies had signed the Numbered Treaties, the federal government introduced and passed an act to amend and consolidate previous laws concerning the Aboriginals. Notably, this act turned the Aboriginals into legal wards of the state.

Painting: Indian Burial - NAC/ANC C-100592
Copyright/Source

The Act also spelled out conditions for being an Indian under the eyes of the law. For instance:

  • Any woman that married an Aboriginal man could be considered an Indian and could be allowed to live and even be buried on a reserve. These women also received other cultural and social benefits by gaining Indian status. However, any Aboriginal woman who married a white, European male was now considered to be a bona fide member of Canadian society. She lost her Indian status and every right that came with it.

  • All "half-breed" Indians, like the Métis, were not entitled to Indian status. This included Métis who had received scrip - transferable land or cash allowances that were issued on paper certificates.
Image
 

The Indian Act, 1876

READ the summary
Image

Sir John A. Macdonald summed up the government's position nearly a decade later in 1885 when he said, "If they are half-breed, they are [considered by the government to be] white."

This position was maintained until September, 2003, when the Supreme Court of Canada ruled that the Métis were entitles to the same rights as Aboriginal peoples.

Image
 

Alexander Morris's Recommendations Regarding Half-Breeds, 1876 - 1880

READ the summary
Image

The terms of the Indian Act also set out instructions regarding the sale of Aboriginal lands. It allowed the government to set licenses allowing timber to be cut and removed from these properties. This confused many Aboriginals, who thought they were given away land for settlement purposes only and did not understand that the government could take resources - their forests - away from them.

Additionally, Aboriginals who broke the law could now be charged under the Criminal Code of Canada. As of 1876, there were legal punishments for Natives who left reserves or sold liquor on reserves.

The act was rewritten in 1951 and revised again in 1985. However, many provisions - including ones prohibiting Aboriginals from living on land outside of reserves or from drinking - have since been repealed or have simply fallen into disuse.

Did you know?

Following the 1876 Indian Act, Aboriginals who lived on reserves were forced to carry an identity card, like a passport, every time they stepped off reserve land.

Treaty Number Six, 1876

Treaties Number 6 and 7
Treaties Number Six and Seven

At a first glance, Treaty Number Six, signed by the Plains and Woods and Plains Cree Aboriginals, is very similar to the five that preceded it. In exchange for yielding their land on the Prairies in current day Alberta and Saskatchewan, the Aboriginals received smaller tracts of reserve land, cash, farm animals and tools (and so on) from the government. As with the other treaties, they had to promise to not drink alcohol and maintain law and order on the reserves.

This time, however, the government faced more resistance. Aboriginals had new concerns: European settlers were moving onto the Prairies at an alarming rate, and, as they moved westward, they displaced Aboriginals from their land. The buffalo had virtually disappeared from this region as well, and other big game animals like deer were not as plentiful. More and more Aboriginals were now facing starvation. On top of this, diseases like smallpox were decimating Aboriginal populations.

Poundmaker, a famous Cree chief, refused to sign the treaty at first since he felt that the government was trying to grab land from his nation unfairly. He is quoted as saying:

"This is our land! It isn't just a piece of pemmican to be cut off and given in little pieces back to us. It is ours and we will take what we want."

By December 1882, however, he had no choice. The buffalo were so scarce his people were starving. As the best hope for survival lay in accepting government money and resources, he allowed his people to be moved onto reserve land.

Painting: Medicine Circles - NAC/ANC C-000416
Copyright/Source

Treaty Number Six was unique as it was the only treaty of its sort with an implied provision for health care. It allows a medicine chest to be kept in the home of an Indian agent for the use and benefit of the Aboriginals. Some Aboriginals have interpreted this provision as extending to all who signed the Numbered Treaties. It is also interpreted by some as an promise by the federal government to provide free health care to every Aboriginal person in Canada - forever.

Image
 

Treaty Number Six

READ the summary
Image

Image
 

Adhesions to Treaty Number Six

READ the summary
Image

Image
 

Sharphead Indians give away Treaty Six reserve land, Sept. 11, 1897

READ the summary
Image

Treaty Number Seven, 1877

Photo: Arriving to sign Treaty Seven - Glenbow Archives NA-1128-9
Copyright/Source

This treaty was signed by a number of Aboriginal bands, including the Blackfoot and Stoney Indians, among others, in present-day southern Alberta. It is very similar to the ones that preceded it, with some exceptions. There was no health care provision as there had been in Treaty Number Six; however, these bands were successful in negotiating for more money and supplies than in previous treaty negotiations. This would be the last Numbered Treaty signed between the government and the Aboriginals until 1899.

Image
 

Treaty Number Seven

READ the summary
Image

Image
 

Adhesion to Treaty Number Seven

READ the summary
Image

Other Interesting or Important Documents:

Image
 

Dispatch of Alexander Morris, 4th December 1876
(On Treaty Number Six.)

READ the summary
Image

Image
 

Letter from Rev. Constantine Scollen, Sept. 8, 1876
(On Treaty Number Seven.)

READ the summary
Image

Image
 

Dispatch of David Laird, Oct. 4, 1877
(On Treaty Number Seven.)

READ the summary
Image

Previous page

Image
Image
  ImageTop of Page Image
Image Image
Image

AccueilCarte du siteIndex du siteComment utiliser ce siteLexiqueContactez-nousRemerciements Image
Le Canada en devenir
Le Canada en devenirAboriginals: Treaties & Relations
Sources primaires
Ressources du professeur
Consultation rapide
Événements et sujets spécifiques
Cartes & images
English
Image
Image
Thèmes:
Histoire de la constitution
Image
Autochtones : Traités et relations
1492 - 1779
1763 - 1791
1764 - 1836
1811 - 1867
1867 - 1870
1871 -1875
1876 -1877
1878 - 1898
1899 - 1922
1923 - 1950
1951 - 1981
1982 - 2003
Sources

Pionniers et Immigrants
Image
Image

Photographe : Danse lors d'un pow-wow des Gens-du-Sang / Archives Nationale du Canada / C-024276
Droit d'auteur/Source

1876 - 1877 : La Loi sur les Indiens, 1876 et les traités numéros 6 et 7

Deux événements importants survenus en 1876 ont eu un impact sur l'histoire des autochtones au Canada. Le premier fut le traité numéro 6, qui fut sans doute le plus important et le plus controversé des traités signés au cours du XIXe siècle. Pour la première fois, un traité permettait à un agent indien de garder une armoire à pharmacie dans sa maison, un geste interprété plus tard par les autochtones comme une promesse du gouvernement d'offrir des soins médicaux gratuits. Le second événement fut l'adoption de la Loi sur les Indiens qui, en fait, plaçait les autochtones sous la tutelle de l'État.

Sujets abordés dans cette section :

La Loi sur les Indiens, 1876
Le traité numéro 6, 1876
Le traité numéro 7, 1877
Autres documents intéressants ou importants

La Loi sur les Indiens, 1876
Une fois qu'une majorité des autochtones vivant sur les Prairies avaient signé les traités numérotés, le gouvernement fédéral a introduit et adopté une loi pour amender et consolider les lois précédentes ayant trait aux autochtones. En fait, cette loi transformait les autochtones en pupilles légaux de l'État.

Aquarelle: Sépulture amérindienne / Archives nationale du Canada / C-100592
Droit d'auteur/Source

Cette loi définissait aussi les conditions pour qu'un Indien soit reconnu comme tel aux yeux de la loi. Par exemple :

  • Toute femme ayant épousé un homme autochtone pouvait être considérée comme une Indienne et il lui était permis de vivre, et même de se faire enterrer, sur une réserve. Le statut d'Indien permettait aussi à ces femmes de recevoir d'autres avantages culturels et sociaux. Par contre, toute femme autochtone qui épousait un homme européen blanc était considérée bona fide comme un membre de la société canadienne. Elle perdait son statut d'Indien et tous les droits y rattachés.

  • Tous les Indiens de « sang-mêlé », comme les Métis, n'avaient pas droit au statut d'Indien. Ceci comprenait les Métis qui avaient reçu des titres provisoires - c'est-à-dire des titres de terres transférables ou des allocations d'argent émis sur des certificats en papier.
Image
 

Lois sur les Indiens, 1876

LIRE le sommaire
Image

Sir John A. Macdonald a résumé la position du gouvernement en 1885, soit environ une décennie plus tard, lorsqu'il a déclaré : « S'ils sont de sang-mêlé, ils sont [considérés par le gouvernement comme étant des] Blancs. »

Cette position fut maintenue jusqu'en septembre 2003, alors que la cour Suprême du Canada a rendu un jugement selon lequel les Métis avaient droit aux mêmes privilèges que les peuples autochtones.

Image
 

Alexander Morris's Recommendations Regarding Half-Breeds, 1876 - 1880

LIRE le sommaire
Image

Les clauses de la Loi sur les Indiens énoncent également les instructions concernant la vente de terres autochtones. La loi autorisait le gouvernement à accorder des permis pour la coupe et l'enlèvement du bois sur ces propriétés. Ceci sema la confusion chez beaucoup d'autochtones qui croyaient avoir cédé des terres seulement pour les fins de la colonisation et ne comprenaient pas que le gouvernement puisse y prélever des ressources - leurs forêts.

Par ailleurs, les autochtones ayant enfreint la loi pouvaient maintenant s'attendre à être accusés en vertu du Code criminel du Canada. À partir de 1876, les autochtones qui quittaient leurs réserves ou qui vendaient de l'alcool sur les réserves étaient passibles d'une des trois punitions légales prévues à cette fin.

La loi fut réécrite en 1951, puis révisée de nouveau en 1985. Toutefois, plusieurs clauses - dont celles défendant aux autochtones de boire ou de vivre sur des terres situées en dehors des réserves - ont été abrogées depuis lors ou ne sont simplement plus appliquées.

Le saviez-vous ?

Après l'adoption de la Loi sur les Indiens en 1876, les autochtones vivant sur des réserves étaient forcés d'avoir sur eux une carte d'identité, comme un passeport, chaque fois qu'ils quittaient les terres de la réserve.

Le traité numéro 6, 1876

Traités numérotés 6-7
Traités numérotés 6-7

De prime abord, le traité numéro 6, signé par les Indiens des Plaines et les Cris des bois, est très semblable aux cinq précédents. En échange des terres cédées sur les Prairies, région située aujourd'hui en Alberta et en Saskatchewan, les autochtones ont reçu de plus petits lots de terres sur les réserves, de l'argent, des animaux de ferme, des outils (et autres articles) du gouvernement. Tout comme dans les autres traités, ils devaient promettre de ne pas consommer d'alcool et de respecter la loi et l'ordre sur les réserves.

Mais cette fois, le gouvernement a rencontré plus de résistance. Les autochtones avaient de nouvelles inquiétudes : les colons européens s'avançaient sur les Prairies à un rythme alarmant et, en s'avançant vers l'ouest, ils évinçaient les autochtones de leurs terres. Les troupeaux de bisons étaient aussi, à toutes fins utiles, disparus de cette région, et le gros gibier autre que le bison, tels que le chevreuil, se trouvait en nombre restreint. De plus en plus d'autochtones étaient maintenant menacés par la famine. Et par-dessus cela, des épidémies, comme la petite vérole, décimaient les populations autochtones.

Poundmaker, le fameux chef des Cris, refusa tout d'abord de signer le traité, car il estimait que le gouvernement tentait de soutirer injustement des terres de sa nation. Il aurait déclaré ce qui suit :

« Ceci est notre terre! Ce n'est pas seulement un morceau de pemmican à être découpé et nous être redistribué en petits morceaux. Elle est à nous et nous prendrons ce que nous voulons. »

Avant décembre 1882 toutefois, il n'avait plus le choix. Le bison était devenu si rare que son peuple mourait de faim. Comme son meilleur espoir de survie résidait dans l'acceptation de l'argent et des ressources du gouvernement, il a permis la relocalisation de son peuple sur les terres d'une réserve.

Peinture : Cercles magiques / Archives nationales du Canada / C-000416
Droit d'auteur/Source

Le traité numéro 6 était unique en ce sens qu'il fut le seul traité de son genre à offrir, de manière sous-entendue, des soins médicaux. Il permettait à un agent indien de conserver, dans sa maison, une armoire à pharmacie pour l'usage et le bénéfice des autochtones. Certains autochtones ont interprété cette clause comme s'adressant à tous les autochtones qui avaient signé les traités numérotés. Quelques-uns l'ont aussi interprétée comme une promesse du gouvernement fédéral d'assurer la gratuité des soins de santé à tous les autochtones du Canada - pour toujours.

Image
 

Traité numéro 6
(Courtoisie du ministère de l'Affaires indiennes et du Nord Canada)

LIRE le sommaire
Image

Image
 

Adhesions to Treaty Number Six

LIRE le sommaire
Image

Image
 

Sharphead Indians give away Treaty Six reserve land, Sept. 11, 1897

LIRE le sommaire
Image

Le traité numéro 7, 1877

Photographe : La famille Blood arrivant en charrette au fort Macleod, Alberta, pour signer l'adhésion au traité no 7, 1893 / Archives de Glenbow NA-1128-9
Droit d'auteur/Source

Ce traité fut signé par un certain nombre de bandes autochtones dont, entre autres, les Pieds-Noirs et les Stoneys vivant dans ce qui est aujourd'hui l'Alberta. Il est très semblable aux traités précédents, sauf quelques exceptions. Il ne comportait aucune clause relative aux soins de santé comme celle du traité numéro 6; mais ces bandes avaient néanmoins réussi à négocier de manière à obtenir de plus fortes sommes d'argent et plus de provisions que lors de la négociation des traités antérieurs. Ce traité serait le dernier des traités numérotés signés entre le gouvernement et les autochtones avant 1899.

Image
 

Traité numéro 7
(Courtoisie du ministère de l'Affaires indiennes et du Nord Canada)

LIRE le sommaire
Image

Image
 

Adhesion to Treaty Number Seven

LIRE le sommaire
Image

Autres documents intéressants ou importants

Image
 

Dispatch of Alexander Morris, 4th December 1876
(
Sur le Traité numéro 6.)

LIRE le sommaire
Image

Image
 

Letter from Rev. Constantine Scollen, Sept. 8, 1876
(Sur le Traité numéro 7.)

LIRE le sommaire
Image

Image
 

Dispatch of David Laird, Oct. 4, 1877
(
Sur le Traité numéro 7.)

LIRE le sommaire
Image

Page précédente

Image
Image
  ImageHaut de page Image
Image Image
Image