Home PageSite MapSite IndexHow to Use This SiteGlossaryContact Us Acknowledgements Image
Canada in the Making
Canada in the MakingAboriginals: Treaties & Relations
Primary Sources
Teachers' Resources
Quick Reference
Specific Events & Topics
Maps & Images
Français
Image
Image
Themes:
Constitutional History
Image
Aboriginals: Treaties & Relations
Image
1492 - 1779
1763 - 1791
1764 - 1836
1811 - 1867
1867 - 1870
1871 - 1875
1876 - 1877
1878 - 1898
1899 - 1922
1923 - 1950
1951 - 1981
1982 - 2003
Sources

Pionniers et Immigrants
Image
Image

Métis Traders - NAC/ANC C-004164
Copyright/Source

1867 - 1870: British North America Act, 1867 and Sale of Selkirk Treaty Lands (1869)

Following Confederation, Aboriginal treaties were no longer negotiated by representatives of the British Colonial Office, they were negotiated by representatives of the Canadian government. With this new era came old - and some new - problems. In 1869, the Métis and Aboriginal allies resisted the transfer of land covered in the Selkirk Treaty back to the federal government.

Topics in this section:

The British North America Act, 1867
Sale of Selkirk Treaty Lands, 1869

The British North America Act, 1867

Canada, 1867
Canada, 1867

Under Section 91 of the British North America Act, 1867, the newly created federal government had constitutional responsibility and authority over Aboriginals and any land that was to be reserved for them. Responsibility for treaty making was ultimately given to the Prime Minister, although the cabinet, the Privy Council, the Secretary of State for the Provinces and the Minister of the Interior would also have important roles to play during any future negotiations.

The Canadian government sought to remove Aboriginals from their land in large blocks and place them in smaller reserves in order to enfranchise them, and eventually assimilate them into white society. This stance was taken to quickly and cheaply clear the west for anticipated European settlement.

There is evidence that the government tried to act on the behalf of all Aboriginal people in fairness and good faith during negotiations. However, some Aboriginals and many Métis people soon came to distrust the government's motives after it bought land they lived on from the Hudson's Bay Company without their input.

Did you know?

The American government spent around $20 million annually to forcibly remove Aboriginal settlers living on the U.S. plains during bloody conflicts of the 1870s. In comparison, the Canadian government spent slightly more than $730,000 between 1875 and 1905 on costs related to its Aboriginal treaties. There was also comparatively little bloodshed in Canada during this period.


Image
 

The British North America Act, 1867

READ the summary
Image

Sale of Selkirk Treaty Lands, 1869

Painting: Pawnee Indians on the war path - NAC/ANC C-000434
Copyright/Source


In 1869, the Hudson's Bay Company sold land to the federal government of Canada that had been covered by the Selkirk Treaty of 1817. This angered Aboriginal nations who had signed the treaty - including the Métis, whom had never secured any rights to the land despite being half-Aboriginal. This was one of the leading causes of the Red River Rebellion.

This sowed the seeds of deep distrust among many Prairie Aboriginals. Many began to fear that any treaties they signed in the future would be meaningless. Some Aboriginals were so upset that they began to block settlers and railway surveyors from crossing into their territorial land. It was in this climate that the federal government would have to negotiate its Numbered Treaties.

For more information please see the Riel Rebellions section of Events and Topics.



Image
 

Rupert's Land Act, 1868
(Allows government to admit Rupert's Land into Canada)

 
Image

Image
 

Temporary Government of Rupert's Land Act, 1869 (bilingual)
(Establishes a temporary government for Rupert's Land when it is admitted into Confederation)
(Courtesy of Justice Department, Canada)

 
Image

Image
 

Order of Her Majesty in Council admitting Rupert's Land and the North-Western Territory into the Union, June 23, 1870
(Brings the territories into Confederation.)

READ the summary
Image

Image
 

Telegram regarding the blocking of Lieut.-Gov. William McDougall's party en route to Fort Garry by Métis insurgents, Nov. 23, 1869

 
Image

Image
 

Response to preceding telegram from Earl Granville, Secretary of State, Nov. 25, 1869

 
Image

Previous page

Image
Image
  ImageTop of Page Image
Image Image
Image

AccueilCarte du siteIndex du siteComment utiliser ce siteLexiqueContactez-nousRemerciements Image
Le Canada en devenir
Le Canada en devenirAboriginals: Treaties & Relations
Sources primaires
Ressources du professeur
Consultation rapide
Événements et sujets spécifiques
Cartes & images
English
Image
Image
Thèmes:
Histoire de la constitution
Image
Autochtones : Traités et relations
1492 - 1779
1763 - 1791
1764 - 1836
1811 - 1867
1867 - 1870
1871 -1875
1876 -1877
1878 - 1898
1899 - 1922
1923 - 1950
1951 - 1981
1982 - 2003
Sources

Pionniers et Immigrants
Image
Image

Photographe : Commerçants métis / Archives nationales du Canada / C-004164
Droit d'auteur/Source

1867 - 1870 : L'Acte de l'Amérique du Nord britannique (1867) et la vente des terres visées par le traité de Selkirk (1869)

Après la Confédération, les traités avec les autochtones n'étaient plus négociés par des représentants du British Colonial Office, mais par des représentants du gouvernement canadien. Cette nouvelle ère apporta avec elle d'anciens - et quelques nouveaux - problèmes. En 1869, les Métis et les nations autochtones alliées ont contesté le transfert au gouvernement fédéral des terres visées par le traité de Selkirk.

Sujets abordés dans cette section :

L'Acte de l'Amérique du Nord britannique, 1867
La vente des terres visées par le traité de Selkirk, 1869

L'Acte de l'Amérique du Nord britannique, 1867

Canada, 1867
Canada, 1867

Selon l'article 91 de l'Acte de l'Amérique du Nord britannique, 1867, le gouvernement fédéral nouvellement créé avait la responsabilité constitutionnelle et l'autorité sur les autochtones et toutes les terres mises de côté pour eux. La responsabilité de la négociation des traités fut, en fin de compte, donnée au premier ministre même si le Cabinet, le Conseil privé, le secrétaire d'État pour les provinces et le ministre de l'Intérieur allaient aussi avoir des rôles importants à jouer dans toutes les futures négociations.

Le gouvernement canadien a tenté d'évincer des groupes importants d'autochtones de leurs terres et de les relocaliser sur des réserves plus petites de manière à les émanciper, et éventuellement les assimiler dans la société des Blancs. Cette décision fut prise dans l'optique que c'était une façon rapide et peu coûteuse de libérer les terres de l'Ouest en vue de l'arrivée anticipée des colons européens.

Il y a des preuves que le gouvernement a essayé d'agir envers tous les peuples autochtones avec justice et bonne foi durant les négociations. Mais, certains autochtones et beaucoup de Métis en sont venus à se méfier des motifs du gouvernement après qu'il a acquis, de la Compagnie de la Baie d'Hudson, les terres sur lesquelles ils vivaient, et cela sans les consulter.

Le saviez-vous ?

Le gouvernement américain a dépensé environ 20,000,000 $ pour évincer de force les colons autochtones vivant sur les plaines des États-Unis durant le conflit sanglant des années 1870. En comparaison, le gouvernement canadien a dépensé à peine plus de 730,000 $ entre 1875 et 1905 pour couvrir les coûts reliés à ses traités avec les autochtones. Par ailleurs, il y a eu comparativement très peu d'effusion de sang au Canada durant cette période.


Image
 

L'Acte de l'Amérique du Nord britannique, 1867

LIRE le sommaire
Image

La vente des terres visées par le traité de Selkirk, 1869

Aquarelle : Pawnees sur le sentier de la guerre / Archives nationales du Canada / C-000434
Droit d'auteur/Source


En 1869, la Compagnie de la Baie d'Hudson a vendu au gouvernement fédéral du Canada des terres citées dans le traité de Selkirk de 1817. Ce geste fâcha les nations autochtones qui avaient signé le traité - dont les Métis qui n'avaient jamais obtenu de garanti quant à leurs droits sur ces terres malgré le fait qu'ils étaient à demi-autochtones. Ce fut là l'une des principales causes de la rébellion de la Rivière-Rouge.

Ceci généra une profonde méfiance chez plusieurs autochtones des Prairies. Beaucoup ont commencé à craindre que tout traité qu'ils signeraient à l'avenir serait vide de sens. Quelques autochtones furent tellement irrités qu'ils ont commencé à empêcher les colons et les arpenteurs à l'emploi des chemins de fer de traverser leurs territoires. C'est dans ce climat que le gouvernement fédéral en viendrait à négocier les traités numérotés.

Pour plus d'information, veuillez consulter la section des Rébellions de Riel qui se trouve sous la rubrique Événements et sujets spécifiques.



Image
 

Loi sur la Terre de Rupert, 1868
(Permet au gouvernement d'admettre la Terre de Rupert dans le Canada)
(Courtoisie du ministère de la Justice du Canada)

 
Image

Image
 

Loi concernant le gouvernement provisoire de la terre de Rupert, 1869 (bilingue)
(Établit un gouvernement provisoire dans la Terre de Rupert lors de son admission dans la Confédération)
(Courtoisie du ministère de la Justice du Canada)

 
Image

Image
 

Ordonnance de Sa Majesté en Conseil pour l'admission de la Terre de Rupert et des Territoires du Nord-Ouest dans l'Union, 23 juin 1870
(Admet les Territoires dans la Confédération.)

LIRE le sommaire
Image

Image
 

Telegram regarding the blocking of Lieut.-Gov. William McDougall's party en route to Fort Garry by Métis insurgents, Nov. 23, 1869

 
Image

Image
 

Response to preceding telegram from Earl Granville, Secretary of State, Nov. 25, 1869

 
Image

Page précédente

Image
Image
  ImageHaut de page Image
Image Image
Image