Home PageSite MapSite IndexHow to Use This SiteGlossaryContact Us Acknowledgements Image
Canada in the Making
Canada in the MakingAboriginals: Treaties & Relations
Primary Sources
Teachers' Resources
Quick Reference
Specific Events & Topics
Maps & Images
Français
Image
Image
Themes:
Constitutional History
Image
Aboriginals: Treaties & Relations
Image
1492 - 1779
1763 - 1791
1764 - 1836
1811 - 1867
1867 - 1870
1871 - 1875
1876 - 1877
1878 - 1898
1899 - 1922
1923 - 1950
1951 - 1981
1982 - 2003
Sources

Pionniers et Immigrants
Image
Image

Painting: Death of Tecumseh / National Archive of Canada / C-040894
Copyright/Source

1811 - 1867: Pre-Confederation Treaties II

This was a turbulent period with far-ranging effects for Aboriginal peoples. First, the War of 1812 splintered the First Nations in Upper Canada and the U.S. Then Aboriginals gave up their land rights in the North-west - without the involving the Métis who also lived on this land.

Later, during the 1830s, Upper Canada started to rethink the necessity of giving presents to the Aboriginals as promised in the Niagara Treaty. Sir Francis Bond Head, the province's lieutenant-governor, attempted to remove Aboriginals from their land and settle them onto a new reserve in Manitoulin Island on Lake Huron.

Topics in this section:

War of 1812
The Selkirk Treaty, 1817
Rescinding the Niagara Treaty, 1836
Bond Head Treaties, 1836
Province of Canada Treaties, 1850 - 1862
The Douglas Treaties, 1850 - 1854
Other Interesting or Important Documents

War of 1812

Many Aboriginals sided with the British during the War of 1812, partially out of a sense of obligation through the Niagara Treaty but also because they thought the British would allow them to preserve enough land for their way of life. The British had appeared to support the creation of a buffer state between settlers and the Aboriginals in the past, particularly prior to the Jay Treaty.

Some Aboriginals had their reservations with siding with the British. However, the Americans were moving deeper into Indian territory, and they appeared willing to wipe out the Aboriginals by any means possible.

Aboriginals nations played a vital role in British victories during the War, including the taking of Detroit, although it came at a considerable cost. In 1813, a popular leader, Tecumseh, was killed in the Battle of Thames. This loss seriously damaged Aboriginal unity and confidence, causing much of their political clout in Upper Canada and the U.S. to vanish.

Following the War of 1812, the Americans would largely remove any Aboriginals living east of the Mississippi River and force them into Indian land now known as Oklahoma. Many Aboriginals chose to migrate north into land around the Great Lakes in Upper Canada instead.

Painting: Selkirk Settlement, Manitoba / National Archive of Canada / C-008714
Copyright/Source

The Selkirk Treaty, 1817

In 1811, British aristocrat Thomas Selkirk wished to create a new colony in a region owned by the Hudson's Bay Company. Selkirk purchased land, mostly located in what is now lower Manitoba, from the fur trading company. This led to the creation of the Red River Settlement in 1812.

This settlement only lasted for three years. Métis who had called the area home were angered that they were not consulted, which partially led to much conflict in the region. In June 1816, the Métis killed the governor-in-chief of Rupert's Land and 20 of his men in the Seven Oaks Incident. Two months later, Selkirk and a mercenary force attacked and captured Fort William from the Métis.

In 1817, Selkirk decided to sign a treaty with Cree and Chippewa nations, among others, to extinguish their claims to a tract of land on his domain stretching along the Red River. He distributed this land to new settlers. When he died in 1820, the executors of his estate sought to control spiraling costs by ending new European settlement on the land. Only those who had settled during the late 1810s, plus some retired Métis fur traders, remained on the land.

In 1836, land covered by this treaty reverted back to the Hudson's Bay Company. This land changed hands once again in 1869 and became the property of the new Dominion of Canada. This angered many Métis and Aboriginals, who felt that new European settlers coming into the region were violating their land rights and disrupting their way of life. This was a leading cause of the Red River Rebellion in 1870.

Image
 

The Selkirk Treaty, 1817

READ the summary
Image

Image
 

Indenture of Sale from the Hudson's Bay Company to the Earl of Selkirk, 1811

READ the summary
Image

Image
 

Image of Aboriginal Signatures on the Selkirk Treaty, 1817

 
Image


Rescinding the Niagara Treaty, 1836

By the 1830s, the British government began to reconsider its promises to give annual presents to the Aboriginal nations that had signed the Niagara Treaty. At this point, European settlers in North America far outnumbered Aboriginal peoples, and the United States and the British colonies in North America were relatively stable and at peace. The government hoped to save monies needed to assist European settlers coming to North America by cutting back on these presents.

In 1836, Sir Francis Bond Head, the lieutenant-governor of Upper Canada, issued a statement at the annual present-giving ceremony on Manitoulin Island (where the original Niagara Treaty wampum belts now resided). He announced that the number of presents given would be reduced. First to be eliminated were gifts to "half-breeds", followed by those to "non-British" Aboriginals who had lived in the United States for two years or more. Eventually, only the most "deserving" Aboriginals would receive these presents.

Bond Head Treaties, 1836

By 1836, Sir Francis Bond Head believed that attempts to remake the Aboriginal peoples living in his province into independent pioneer farmers were failing. He felt the Aboriginals were hunters and gatherers by tradition, unused to working and living in an agricultural society. He also felt that the increase in European settlers had created problems for Aboriginal peoples - not least of which was alcohol.

Bond Head wanted to separate the Aboriginals in the province from the white population, and move them to Manitoulin Island and smaller nearby islands in Lake Huron so they could pursue their regular lifestyle of hunting and fishing.

Ultimately, Bond Head failed to convince most Aboriginals to move to the much less-arable Manitoulin Island. Instead what they really wanted was Crown protection from white settlers on their ancestral lands.

While the colonial office more or less approved Bond Head's policy - it never revoked the Bond Head Treaties - it also met with substantial resistance in Britain, particularly from the Aborigines' Protection Society - a Protestant group with links to the anti-slavery movement.

Image
 

Bond Head Treaties, Aug. 9, 1836
(Numbers 45 and 45 ½)

READ the summary
Image

Image
 

Letter from Sir Francis Bond Head to Lord Glenelg, Toronto, 20 August 1836

READ the summary
Image

Image
 

Correspondence between Lord Glenelg and Bond Head, London, 5 October 1836; Toronto, 20 November 1836

READ the summary
Image

Image
 

Lord Glenelg to Bond Head, London, 20 January 1837

READ the summary
Image

Image
 

Memorial from the Aborignes' Protection Society to Lord Glenelg, 1837

READ the summary
Image

Province of Canada Treaties, 1850 - 1862

Province of Canada Treaties
Province of Canada Treaties

The discovery of minerals on the shores of Lake Huron and Lake Superior led the government of the Province of Canada to take measures to extinguish Aboriginal titles to the land in 1850. Two treaties, known as the Robinson Treaties, were signed in 1850 between the Crown and Aboriginals. The latter gave up mining lands - including 'land' directly below the earth's surface - in exchange for money and the creation of reserves. They were also given the right to hunt and fish on these ceded lands.

In 1862, the Manitoulin Island Treaty was negotiated, allowing European settlement on this island in Lake Huron.

Image
 

The Robinson Superior Treaty, 1850

READ the summary
Image

Image
 

The Robinson Huron Treaty, 1850

READ the summary
Image

Image
 

The Manitoulin Island Treaty, 1862

READ the summary
Image

Image
 

Report of Robinson to the Honourable Colonel Bruce, Superintendent of Indian Affairs - Toronto, 24th September, 1850

 
Image

Image
 

William McDougall's Report, Manitoulin Island, Nov. 3, 1862

 
Image

The Douglas Treaties, 1850 - 1854

The Douglas Treaties
Province of Canada Treaties

Treaty negotiation was not limited to the Province of Canada in the 1850s. When the colony of Vancouver Island was established in 1849, British administrators sought to acquire Aboriginal land for settlement and industrial use in the colony. When the colony was established, it was dependant on the fur trade. Then, following the California gold rush of 1848, prospectors pushed further and further north, hoping to find gold.

During a period of four years, 14 treaties were signed between the Aboriginals on the island and the colonial government. Governor James Douglas, chief factor for the Hudson's Bay Company in the area, led this effort. These agreements were known variously as the Douglas Treaties, the Vancouver Island Treaties or the Fort Victoria Treaties. Douglas never used the word treaty in any of his negotiations - he used words like 'sale' or 'deed of conveyance' - but the Supreme Court of Canada would later rule that they were treaties because he was negotiating on behalf of the British monarchy.

Painting: Fort Vancouver / National Archive of Canada / C-001628
Copyright/Source

The Aboriginals gave up nearly 570 square kilometers of land in exchange for cash, clothing and blankets. They were able to retain existing village lands and fields for their use, and also were allowed to hunt and fish on the surrendered lands.

Treaty-making on Vancouver Island came to an end in 1854 when the colony began to run out of money for further expansion. New settlement and the development of industry on the island had also been slower than anticipated.

Image
 

Douglas Treaty Documents

READ the summary
Image

For more information on the Douglas Treaties, visit:


For more information on the Aboriginal Treaties, visit:

Other Interesting or Important Documents

Previous page

Image
Image
  ImageTop of Page Image
Image Image
Image

AccueilCarte du siteIndex du siteComment utiliser ce siteLexiqueContactez-nousRemerciements Image
Le Canada en devenir
Le Canada en devenirAboriginals: Treaties & Relations
Sources primaires
Ressources du professeur
Consultation rapide
Événements et sujets spécifiques
Cartes & images
English
Image
Image
Thèmes:
Histoire de la constitution
Image
Autochtones : Traités et relations
1492 - 1779
1763 - 1791
1764 - 1836
1811 - 1867
1867 - 1870
1871 -1875
1876 -1877
1878 - 1898
1899 - 1922
1923 - 1950
1951 - 1981
1982 - 2003
Sources

Pionniers et Immigrants
Image
Image

Lithographie: La mort de Tecumseh / National Archive of Canada / C-040894
Droit d'auteur/Source

1811 - 1867 : Les traités conclus avant la Confédération II

C'était une période agitée et lourde de conséquences pour les peuples autochtones. Premièrement, la guerre de 1812 a créé des dissidences au sein des Premières nations dans le Haut-Canada et aux États-Unis. Ensuite, les autochtones ont abandonné leurs droits territoriaux dans le Nord-Ouest - et cela sans consulter les Métis qui vivaient aussi sur ce territoire.

Plus tard, durant les années 1830, le Haut-Canada s'est mis à reconsidérer la nécessité de donner des cadeaux aux autochtones tels que ceux promis dans le traité de Niagara. Sir Francis Bond Head, le lieutenant-gouverneur de la province, a tenté d'évincer les autochtones de leurs terres et de les relocaliser sur une nouvelle réserve située sur l'île Manitoulin, sur le lac Huron.

Sujets abordés dans cette section :

La guerre de 1812
Le traité de Selkirk, 1817
L'abrogation du traité de Niagara, 1836
Les traités de Bond Head, 1836
Les traités de la province du Canada, 1850 - 1862
Les traités Douglas, 1850 - 1854
Autres documents intéressants ou importants

La guerre de 1812

Beaucoup d'autochtones se sont rangés du côté des Britanniques durant la guerre de 1812, en partie parce qu'ils jugeaient que le traité de Niagara les y obligeait, mais aussi parce qu'ils croyaient que les Britanniques leur permettraient de garder suffisamment de terres pour conserver leur mode de vie. Dans le passé, et en particulier avant le traité de Jay, les Britanniques avaient donné l'impression de vouloir créer un État tampon entre les colons et les autochtones.

Certains autochtones doutaient de l'intérêt de se ranger du côté des Britanniques. Mais, les Américains s'enfonçaient davantage dans le territoire indien et semblaient décidés à éliminer les autochtones par tous les moyens possibles.

Les nations autochtones ont joué un rôle vital dans les victoires britanniques au cours de la guerre, dont la prise de Détroit qui fut, malgré tout, une victoire coûteuse. En 1813, un chef populaire, Tecumseh, fut tué dans la bataille de Thames. Cette perte ébrécha sérieusement l'unité et la confiance des autochtones, entraînant une perte substantielle de leur poids politique dans le Haut-Canada et aux États-Unis.

Après la guerre de 1812, les Américains ont réussi à chasser la plupart des autochtones vivant à l'est de la rivière Mississippi et à les établir de force sur un territoire indien aujourd'hui connu sous le nom d'Oklahoma. Beaucoup d'autochtones ont préféré émigrer vers le nord, dans le Haut-Canada, sur des terres autour des Grands Lacs.

Peinture : La colonie de Selkirk, Manitoba / National Archive of Canada / C-008714
Droit d'auteur/Source

Le traité de Selkirk, 1817

En 1811, un aristocrate britannique, Thomas Selkirk, voulait fonder une nouvelle colonie dans une région appartenant à la Compagnie de la Baie d'Hudson. Selkirk a acheté de cette compagnie de traite de fourrures, des terres situées pour la plupart dans le sud de ce qui est aujourd'hui le Manitoba. Ceci a mené, en 1812, à la création de la colonie de la Rivière-Rouge.

Cette colonie n'a duré que trois ans. Les Métis, qui considéraient l'endroit comme leur lieu d'habitat et n'ayant pas été consultés, se mirent en colère, une situation partiellement responsable des nombreux conflits à survenir dans la région. En juin 1816, les Métis ont tué le gouverneur en chef de la Terre du Rupert avec 20 de ses hommes dans la bataille des Sept Chênes. Deux mois plus tard, Selkirk et une force mercenaire ont attaqué et capturé le fort William appartenant aux Métis.

En 1817, Selkirk a décidé de signer un traité avec, entre autres, la nation des Cris et celle des Chippewas, afin d'éteindre leurs droits sur une parcelle de terre située sur son domaine qui s'étirait le long de la Rivière-Rouge. Il a distribué ces terres aux nouveaux colons. Lorsqu'il est mort en 1820, ses exécuteurs testamentaires ont cherché à contrôler les coûts qui montaient en flèche en mettant fin à toute nouvelle colonisation européenne de ces terres. Seuls ceux qui s'y étaient établis à la fin des années 1810 et quelques marchands de fourrures métis à la retraite pouvaient continuer d'y demeurer.

En 1836, le territoire touché par ce traité est revenu à la Compagnie de la Baie d'Hudson. Ces terres ont changé de mains encore une fois en 1869 et sont devenues la propriété du nouveau Dominion du Canada. Plusieurs Métis et autochtones étaient en colère, car ils estimaient que les nouveaux colons européens qui s'établissaient dans la région violaient leurs droits territoriaux et perturbaient leur mode de vie. C'était là une des principales causes de la rébellion de la Rivière-Rouge en 1870.

Image
 

The Selkirk Treaty, 1817

LIRE le sommaire
Image

Image
 

Indenture of Sale from the Hudson's Bay Company to the Earl of Selkirk, 1811

LIRE le sommaire
Image

Image
 

Image of Aboriginal Signatures on the Selkirk Treaty, 1817

 
Image


L'abrogation du traité de Niagara, 1836

Avant les années 1830, le gouvernement britannique commença à reconsidérer ses promesses de donner des cadeaux aux nations autochtones qui avaient signé le traité de Niagara. À ce moment, le nombre de colons européens en Amérique du Nord dépassait de beaucoup celui des peuples autochtones, et les colonies américaines et britanniques en Amérique du Nord profitaient d'une existence relativement stable et paisible. Souhaitant épargner l'argent nécessaire pour aider les colons européens qui venaient s'établir en Amérique du Nord, le gouvernement décida de réduire ces cadeaux.

En 1836, sir Francis Bond Head, le lieutenant-gouverneur du Haut-Canada, a fait une déclaration lors de la cérémonie annuelle de l'échange de cadeaux sur l'île Manitoulin (là où les ceintures de wampum originales du traité de Niagara étaient alors conservées). Il a annoncé que le nombre de cadeaux offerts serait réduit. Les premiers à être éliminés seraient les cadeaux offerts aux Métis, suivis de ceux aux autochtones « non-Britanniques » qui avaient vécu aux États-Unis pour deux ans et plus. Éventuellement, seulement les autochtones les plus « méritants » recevraient ces cadeaux.

Les traités de Bond Head, 1836

Avant 1836, sir Francis Bond Head croyait que toute tentative de transformer les peuples autochtones vivant dans sa province en des pionniers agriculteurs indépendants était vouée à l'échec. Il estimait que les autochtones étaient, par tradition, des gens qui vivaient de la chasse et de la cueillette, non habitués à travailler et à vivre dans une société agricole. Il pensait aussi que l'accroissement des colons européens avait créé des problèmes pour les peuples autochtones - dont l'un des plus importants était celui de l'alcool.

Bond Head voulait séparer les autochtones de sa province de la population blanche, et les relocaliser sur l'île de Manitoulin et autres îles plus petites dans les parages sur le lac Huron, pour qu'ils puissent poursuivre leurs activités régulières de chasse et de pêche.

Finalement, Bond Head n'a pas réussi à convaincre la plupart des autochtones de déménager sur les terres beaucoup moins fertiles de l'île Manitoulin. Ce qu'ils voulaient vraiment, c'était plutôt la protection de la Couronne contre l'établissement des colons blancs sur leurs terres ancestrales.

Pendant que le Bureau colonial approuvait plus ou moins la politique de Bond Head - il n'a jamais révoqué les traités de Bond Head - sa politique dut néanmoins faire face à des critiques sérieuses en Grande-Bretagne, surtout de la part de l'Aborigines' Protection Society - un groupe protestant ayant des liens avec le mouvement antiesclavagiste.

Image
 

Bond Head Treaties, Aug. 9, 1836
(Numéros 45 et 45 ½)

LIRE le sommaire
Image

Image
 

Letter from Sir Francis Bond Head to Lord Glenelg, Toronto, 20 August 1836

LIRE le sommaire
Image

Image
 

Correspondence between Lord Glenelg and Bond Head, London, 5 October 1836; Toronto, 20 November 1836

LIRE le sommaire
Image

Image
 

Lord Glenelg to Bond Head, London, 20 January 1837

LIRE le sommaire
Image

Image
 

Memorial from the Aborignes' Protection Society to Lord Glenelg, 1837

LIRE le sommaire
Image

Les traités de la province du Canada, 1850 - 1862

Régions des traités de la province du Canada
Régions des traités de la province du Canada

La découverte de minéraux sur les rives des lacs Huron et Supérieur a conduit le gouvernement de la province du Canada à prendre des mesures pour éteindre les titres autochtones sur ces terres en 1850. Deux traités, connus sous le nom de traités Robinson, furent signés en 1850 entre la Couronne et les autochtones. Ces derniers ont cédé des terrains miniers - incluant la « terre » située directement sous la surface du sol - en échange d'argent et de la création de réserves. Les autochtones reçurent également le droit de chasser et de pêcher sur les terres cédées.

En 1862, le traité de l'île Manitoulin fut négocié, permettant la colonisation européenne sur cette île du lac Huron.

Image
 

Le traité de Robinson - Supérieur, 1850
(Courtoisie du ministère des Affaires indiennes et du Nord Canada)

LIRE le sommaire
Image

Image
 

Le traité de Robinson - Huron, 1850
(Courtoisie du ministère des Affaires indiennes et du Nord Canada)

LIRE le sommaire
Image

Image
 

The Manitoulin Island Treaty, 1862

LIRE le sommaire
Image

Image
 

Report of Robinson to the Honourable Colonel Bruce, Superintendent of Indian Affairs - Toronto, 24th September, 1850

 
Image

Image
 

William McDougall's Report, Manitoulin Island, Nov. 3, 1862

 
Image

Les traités Douglas, 1850 - 1854

Traités de Douglas (Traités de l'Île de Vancouver)
Traités de Douglas (Traités de l'Île de Vancouver)

La négociation des traités dans les années 1850 ne fut pas limitée à la province du Canada. Quand la colonie de l'île de Vancouver fut établie en 1849, les administrateurs britanniques ont cherché à acquérir des terres autochtones pour les besoins de la colonisation et de l'industrialisation dans la colonie. Au début, la colonie dépendait du commerce des fourrures. Après la ruée vers l'or de 1848 en Californie, les prospecteurs sont remontés de plus en plus vers le nord en quête d'or.

Durant une période de quatre ans, 14 traités furent signés entre les autochtones de l'île et le gouvernement colonial. Le gouverneur James Douglas, chef de la traite des fourrures pour la Compagnie de la Baie d'Hudson dans cette région, a mené l'affaire. Ces ententes sont connues sous diverses appellations : les traités Douglas, les traités de l'île de Vancouver ou les traités du fort Victoria. Douglas n'a jamais employé le mot traité dans aucune de ses négociations - il utilisait des mots comme « vente » ou « acte de cession » - mais, plus tard, la cour Suprême du Canada rendrait un jugement selon lequel il s'agissait bien de traités, car il négociait au nom de la monarchie anglaise.

Les autochtones ont cédé près de 570 kilomètres carrés de territoire en échange d'argent, de vêtements et de couvertures. Ils ont pu conserver l'utilisation des terres et des champs de leurs villages, ainsi que le droit de chasser et de pêcher sur les terres cédées.

La négociation de traités sur l'île de Vancouver s'est terminée en 1854, lorsque la colonie commença à manquer d'argent pour poursuivre son expansion. La nouvelle colonisation et l'industrialisation sur l'île ont aussi progressé beaucoup plus lentement que prévues.

Image
 

Douglas Treaty Documents

LIRE le sommaire
Image

Pour plus d'information sur les traités Douglas, visitez :


Pour plus d'information sur les traités autochtones, visitez :

Autres documents intéressants ou importants

Page précédente

Image
Image
  ImageHaut de page Image
Image Image
Image