Home PageSite MapSite IndexHow to Use This SiteGlossaryContact Us Acknowledgements Image
Canada in the Making
Canada in the MakingAboriginals: Treaties & Relations
Primary Sources
Teachers' Resources
Quick Reference
Specific Events & Topics
Maps & Images
Français
Image
Image
Themes:
Constitutional History
Image
Aboriginals: Treaties & Relations
Image
1492 - 1779
1763 - 1791
1764 - 1836
1811 - 1867
1867 - 1870
1871 - 1875
1876 - 1877
1878 - 1898
1899 - 1922
1923 - 1950
1951 - 1981
1982 - 2003
Sources

Pionniers et Immigrants
Image
Image

Picture: Arrival of Champlain at Québec - NAC/ANC C-011015
Copyright/Source

1492 - 1779: From First Contact to the Peace and Friendship Treaties

Before the discovery of North America by European explorers, Aboriginal peoples had an entire continent to themselves. They each had their own cultures and traditions, which ranged from nomadic lifestyles, such as the plains peoples who followed the buffalo, to settled farmers such as the Iroquois. The arrival of the white man would eventually change everything, and fundamentally affect the Aboriginal people's relationship with the land and its resources.

Topics in this section:

Decision Making Among Aboriginals
Oral Treaty Making
Covenant Chain
The Great Peace of 1701
Aboriginal-European Relations in the 1700s
Peace and Friendship Treaties
Other Interesting and Important Documents

Decision Making Among Aboriginals

Aboriginals did not have centralized, formal governments in the European sense. Aboriginal societies were largely governed by unwritten customs and codes of conduct.

You will find more information on this topic in the Constitutional History section.

Oral Treaty Making

Aboriginals had treaties with each other long before European fur traders or settlers arrived in what is now called Canada. Aboriginal nations would use oral treaties to settle land disputes and end other conflicts, including war. Trade and marriage arrangements were commonly made between tribes as well.

When the Europeans arrived, they brought with them their own methods, especially the written treaty. Particularly after the conquest, when the British gradually began to establish a strong hold on the continent, Aboriginals were not always happy with the outcomes of these written treaties - for governments of the time sometimes did not include oral promises made to the Aboriginals in the written treaty. This forms the basis of many land claims today, as Aboriginal leaders demand to be given what they were promised.

Did you know?

The Great Law of Peace of the People of the Longhouse is one of the earliest recorded treaties negotiated between Aboriginal tribes. It predates the year 1450, and covered 117 articles governing customs and relationships between the Seneca, Mohawk and Cayuga tribes, among others. It was passed on orally from generation to generation, and was written down for the first time in 1880.

Painting: Inside an Indian Tent (Manitoba) - NAC/ANC C-114484
Copyright/Source


Covenant Chain

In the early 1600s, a series of treaties were negotiated between the Thirteen Colonies, which would eventually make up the United States, and the six-nation Iroquois Confederacy. These agreements likely originated between the Mohawk nation and the colony of New York, and were represented by iron or silver chains that symbolized the binding of a promise.

These agreements would often be re-negotiated as more financial aid to the Aboriginals was needed, and the chains would be symbolically polished to show that revisions had taken place. Other colonies, including Connecticut, Massachusetts, Maryland and Rhode Island, would later join the chain as would the Tuscarora tribe.

The chain lasted until June 1753, when the Mohawk broke it, upset that Anglo-American settlers had begun occupying Confederacy lands without permission of any of the six nations in the chain. In 1754, an elaborate condolence ceremony was held in Albany, New York, which saw colonial leaders make peace with the Aboriginals by offering gifts. The chain was then restored.

The Great Peace of 1701

One example of early treaty making between Europeans and Aboriginal peoples was the Great Peace of 1701. One 1300 delegates of more than 40 First Nations converged on Montreal. The treaty that followed the negotiations ended almost 100 years of war between the Iroquois Confederacy and New France and its allies.

The significance of the treaty lasts to this day, as it set a precedent the use of negotiation to settle disputes between First Nations peoples and European colonial representatives in what is now Canada. It also set the foundation for the expansion of the "empire" of New France to the south and west, and ensured the neutrality of the Iroquois Confederacy in case of war between the French and English in North America. At the outbreak of the Seven Years War between British and French forces in 1756, the Iroquois Confederacy was neutral.

Aboriginal-European Relations in the 1700s

By 1701, Aboriginals and Europeans had had about two centuries worth of contact. While there had been wars between the Europeans and Aboriginals, the relationship between both parties had stabilized.

Aboriginal skills and knowledge about the harsh landscape helped many Europeans survive cold Canadian winters. These Aboriginals provided access to land to furs for trading, as well as food supplies from fishing and big game hunting.

For more information about the fur trade in Canada, visit:·

On the other hand, European goods and technologies found their way into Aboriginal culture. The Natives now had blankets, iron kettles, guns and gunpowder as new tools. Over a period of time, the Aboriginals and Europeans slowly became more interdependent. Cultural and social aspects were borrowed from both cultures and incorporated into trading ceremonies.

A new cultural group, the Métis, came out of this interaction between European and Aboriginal civilizations. Early European explorers and traders were virtually all men, and some of them decided to settle down and start new lives in Canada. Many started families by marrying Aboriginal women. The ancestors of these children form the basis of Canada's Métis population.

Area of Peace and Friendship Treaties
Area of Peace and Friendship Treaties

Peace and Friendship Treaties

Other colonial governments in the area now covered by New Brunswick, Nova Scotia and the northeastern United States began to sign peace agreements with the Aboriginals in the early 1700s. Starting with the first Peace and Friendship Treaty in 1725 and lasting until 1779, these treaties were designed to stop and prevent wars with the Aboriginal peoples so that European settlers could begin to safely live on this land and use its natural resources.

To learn more about the Peace and Friendship Treaties, visit:

Image
 

The Submission and Agreement of the Delegates of the Eastern Indians
(The first Peace and Friendship Treaty to be negotiated with the "Eastern Tribes" of Nova Scotia, December 15,1725)

READ the summary
Image

Image
 

Articles of Submission and Agreement made at Boston, in New England…, 1725
(Articles from the first Peace and Friendship Treaty negotiated with the "Eastern Tribes" of Nova Scotia, December 15,1725.)

READ the summary
Image

Image
 

Ratification at Annapolis Royal, 1728
(The ratification of first Peace and Friendship Treaty by the "Eastern Tribes" of Nova Scotia, May 13, 1728.)

READ the summary
Image

Image
 

Casco Bay Articles, 1727
(Adhesion to the first Peace and Friendship Treaty of December 15, 1725.)

READ the summary
Image

Image
 

Chebucto Harbour Ratification, 1749
(Brings the territories into Confederation.)

READ the summary
Image

Image
 

Enclosure in letter of Governor Hopson to the Right Honourable The Earl of Holdernesse: Treaty or Articles of Peace and Friendship Renewed
(Renewal of the first Peace and Friendship Treaty.)

READ the summary
Image

Image
 

Letter of Jonathan Belcher to the Lords of Trade 2 July 1762 - Halifax, Nova Scotia
(Articles from Belcher's letter on the fishing and hunting rights of the "Eastern Tribes" in the colony of Nova Scotia.)

READ the summary
Image

Image
 

Proclamation issued in Nova Scotia, 1762
(Sets out relations and obligations of the Crown to the "Eastern Tribes".)

READ the summary
Image


Painting: White Cap, Sioux chief, pledging his friendship to white brothers during Riel Rebellions - Glenbow Archives NA-1353-4

Area of Peace and Friendship Treaties

Other Interesting or Important Documents

Previous page

Image
Image
  ImageTop of Page Image
Image Image
Image

AccueilCarte du siteIndex du siteComment utiliser ce siteLexiqueContactez-nousRemerciements Image
Le Canada en devenir
Le Canada en devenirAboriginals: Treaties & Relations
Sources primaires
Ressources du professeur
Consultation rapide
Événements et sujets spécifiques
Cartes & images
English
Image
Image
Thèmes:
Histoire de la constitution
Image
Autochtones : Traités et relations
1492 - 1779
1763 - 1791
1764 - 1836
1811 - 1867
1867 - 1870
1871 -1875
1876 -1877
1878 - 1898
1899 - 1922
1923 - 1950
1951 - 1981
1982 - 2003
Sources

Pionniers et Immigrants
Image
Image

Dessin : L'arrivée de Champlain à Québec en 1608 / Archives nationales du Canada / C-011015
Droit d'auteur/Source

1492 - 1779 : Depuis les premiers contacts aux traités de paix et d'amitié

Avant la découverte de l'Amérique du Nord par les explorateurs européens, les peuples autochtones avaient tout un continent à eux. Ils possédaient chacun leur propre culture et leurs propres traditions et leur mode de vie différait selon qu'ils étaient nomades, comme les tribus des Plaines qui suivaient les troupeaux de bisons, ou des agriculteurs sédentaires comme les Iroquois. L'arrivée de l'homme blanc allait éventuellement tout changer et transformer en profondeur les rapports des peuples autochtones avec la terre et ses ressources.

Sujets abordés dans cette section :

Les prises de décision chez les autochtones
Les traités verbaux
La chaîne d'alliance
La Grande Paix de 1701
Les relations entre les autochtones et les Européens au XVIIIe siècle
Les traités de paix et d'amitié
Autres documents intéressants et importants

Les prises de décision chez les autochtones

Les autochtones ne disposaient pas de gouvernements centraux ou officiels au sens européen. Les sociétés autochtones étaient essentiellement gouvernées par des coutumes non écrites et par des codes de conduite.

Vous trouverez plus d'information sur ces thèmes et des exemples dans la section sur l'histoire constitutionnelle.

Les traités verbaux

Les autochtones concluaient des traités entre eux bien avant l'arrivée des commerçants de fourrures ou des colons dans ce qui est maintenant le Canada. Les nations autochtones utilisaient des traités verbaux pour régler les disputes territoriales et mettre fin à d'autres conflits, dont les guerres. Des ententes entre les tribus concernant les échanges et le mariage étaient aussi très courantes.

Lorsque les Européens sont arrivés, ils ont apporté avec eux leurs propres procédures, en particulier le traité écrit. Après la Conquête surtout, lorsque les Britanniques ont commencé à établir fortement leur mainmise sur le continent, les autochtones n'étaient pas toujours heureux des résultats de ces traités écrits - car les gouvernements de l'époque n'introduisaient pas toujours dans les traités écrits les promesses verbales faites aux autochtones. Cette situation constitue la base de bien des revendications territoriales aujourd'hui, car les chefs autochtones réclament ce qu'on leur avait promis.

Le saviez-vous ?

La Grande la paix des peuples de la cabane longue est l'un des premiers traités attestés qui fut négocié entre les tribus autochtones. Il date d'avant 1450 et comprend 117 articles touchant les coutumes et les rapports entre les tribus, entre autres, des Sénécas, des Mohawks et des Cayugas. Il fut transmis oralement de génération en génération et écrit pour la première fois en 1880.

Aquarelle: Intérieur d'une tente amérindienne (Manitoba) / Archives nationales du Canada / C-114484
Droit d'auteur/Source


La chaîne d'alliance

Au début des années 1600, une série de traités furent négociés entre les treize colonies, qui formeraient éventuellement les États-Unis, et la Confédération iroquoise des Six-nations. Ces premières ententes furent probablement conclues entre la nation des Mohawks et la colonie de New York, et étaient représentées par des chaînes en fer ou en argent symbolisant que les parties étaient liées par leur promesse.

Ces ententes furent renégociées plusieurs fois lorsqu'une aide financière additionnelle aux autochtones devenait nécessaire, et les chaînes étaient symboliquement polies pour démontrer que des révisions avaient eu lieu. D'autres colonies, dont le Connecticut, le Massachusetts, le Maryland et le Rhode Island, se joindraient plus tard à la chaîne, tout comme la tribu des Tuscaroras.

La chaîne a subsisté jusqu'en 1753, alors que les Mohawks l'ont brisée parce qu'ils étaient en colère contre des colons anglo-américains qui avaient commencé à s'établir sur des territoires appartenant à la Confédération sans avoir obtenu la permission d'aucune des six nations de la chaîne. En 1754, une grande cérémonie de condoléances fut tenue à Albany, New York, au cours de laquelle, des administrateurs coloniaux ont fait la paix avec les autochtones en leur donnant des cadeaux. La chaîne fut alors rétablie.

La Grande Paix de 1701

Un exemple des premiers traités conclus entre les Européens et les peuples autochtones est la Grande Paix de 1701. Environ 1300 délégués représentant plus de 40 Premières nations se sont regroupés à Montréal. Le traité conclu suite aux négociations a mis fin à près de 100 ans de guerre entre la Confédération iroquoise et la Nouvelle-France et ses alliés.

L'importance de ce traité perdure jusqu'à nos jours, car il a établi un précédent en utilisant la négociation pour résoudre des disputes entre les peuples de Premières nations et les représentants européens des colonies dans ce qui est maintenant le Canada. Ce traité a également été le pivot de l'expansion de « l'empire » de la Nouvelle-France vers le sud et l'ouest et a assuré la neutralité de la Confédération iroquoise en cas de guerre entre les Français et les Anglais en Amérique du Nord. Lors du déclenchement de la guerre de Sept Ans en 1756, opposant les forces britanniques et françaises, la Confédération iroquoise est demeurée neutre.

En août 1760, les Sept-Nations du Canada - composées de bandes autochtones domiciliées à Québec - se sont également jointes à la chaîne d'alliance pour affirmer leur neutralité après avoir combattu aux côtés des Français au début de la guerre de Sept Ans.

Les relations entre les autochtones et les Européens au XVIIIe siècle

Avant 1701, les autochtones et les Européens avaient vécu près de deux siècles de conflits. Bien qu'il y ait eu des guerres entre les Européens et les autochtones, les rapports entre les deux parties s'étaient stabilisés.

Les compétences et les connaissances des autochtones au sujet des rigueurs du pays ont permis à bien des Européens de survivre aux froids des hivers canadiens. Ces autochtones leur ont procuré l'accès aux terres, aux fourrures pour la traite, ainsi qu'à des provisions de nourriture grâce à la pêche et à la chasse au gros gibier.

Pour en savoir plus sur la traite des fourrures au Canada, visiter le site :

Par contre, la technologie et les produits européens ont trouvé leur chemin dans la culture autochtone. Les autochtones étaient maintenant équipés de couvertures, de bouilloires de fer, de fusils et de poudre à canon. Après un certain temps, les autochtones et les Européens sont devenus graduellement plus interdépendants. Des aspects culturels et sociaux furent empruntés aux deux cultures et incorporés dans les cérémonies d'échanges.

Un nouveau groupe, les Métis, est né de cette interaction entre les civilisations européennes et autochtones. Les premiers explorateurs et commerçants européens étaient presque tous des hommes, et certains d'entre eux ont décidé de s'établir et d'entreprendre une nouvelle vie au Canada. Beaucoup ont fondé des familles en épousant des femmes autochtones. Les ancêtres de ces enfants forment les souches de la population métisse du Canada.

Région des traités de paix et d'amitié
Région des traités de paix et d'amitié

Les traités de paix et d'amitié

D'autres gouvernements coloniaux dans la région correspondant aujourd'hui au territoire du Nouveau-Brunswick, de la Nouvelle-Écosse et du nord-est des États-Unis ont commencé à signer des ententes de paix avec les autochtones au début des années 1700. Depuis le premier Traité de paix et d'amitié de 1725 jusqu'en 1779, ces traités avaient pour buts d'arrêter et d'empêcher les guerres avec les peuples autochtones, afin que les colons européens puissent commencer à vivre en sécurité dans ce pays et utiliser ses ressources naturelles.

Pour en savoir plus au sujet des traités de paix et d'amitié, visitez :


Image
 

Le premier traité de paix et d'amitié à être négocié avec les « tribus de l'Est », en Nouvelle-Écosse, le 15 décembre 1725.
(Le premier traité de paix et d'amitié à être négocié avec les « tribus de l'Est », en Nouvelle-Écosse, le 15 décembre 1725.)

LIRE le sommaire
Image

Image
 

Clauses du premier traité de paix et d'amitié négocié avec les « tribus de l'Est », en Nouvelle-Écosse, le 15 décembre 1725.
(Clauses du premier traité de paix et d'amitié négocié avec les « tribus de l'Est », en Nouvelle-Écosse, le 15 décembre 1725.)

LIRE le sommaire
Image

Image
 

La ratification du premier traité de paix et d'amitié par les « tribus de l'Est », en Nouvelle-Écosse, le 13 mai 1728.
(La ratification du premier traité de paix et d'amitié par les « tribus de l'Est », en Nouvelle-Écosse, le 13 mai 1728.)

LIRE le sommaire
Image

Image
 

Casco Bay Articles, 1727
(Adhésion au premier traité de paix et d'amitié du 15 décembre 1725.)

LIRE le sommaire
Image

Image
 

Chebucto Harbour Ratification, 1749
(Ratification du traité conclu avec les Malécites.)

LIRE le sommaire
Image

Image
 

Enclosure in letter of Governor Hopson to the Right Honourable The Earl of Holdernesse: Treaty or Articles of Peace and Friendship Renewed
(Renouvellement du premier traité de paix et d'amitié.)

LIRE le sommaire
Image

Image
 

Letter of Jonathan Belcher to the Lords of Trade 2 July 1762 - Halifax, Nova Scotia
(Articles sur les droits de pêche et de chasse des « tribus de l'Est » dans la colonie de la Nouvelle-Écosse.)

LIRE le sommaire
Image

Image
 

Proclamation issued in Nova Scotia, 1762
(Explique les relations et les obligations de la Couronne aux « tribus de l'Est ».)

LIRE le sommaire
Image


Photographe : Le chef sioux White Cap, prononçant un serment d'amitié à ses frères blancs durant la rébellion de Riel - Archives de Glenbow NA-1353-4

Droit d'auteur/Source

Autres documents intéressants ou importants

Page précédente

Image
Image
  ImageHaut de page Image
Image Image
Image