Home PageSite MapSite IndexHow to Use This SiteGlossaryContact Us Acknowledgements Image
Canada in the Making
Canada in the MakingAboriginals: Treaties & Relations
Primary Sources
Teachers' Resources
Quick Reference
Specific Events & Topics
Maps & Images
Français
Image
Image
Themes:
Constitutional History
Image
Aboriginals: Treaties & Relations
Image
1492 - 1779
1763 - 1791
1764 - 1836
1811 - 1867
1867 - 1870
1871 - 1875
1876 - 1877
1878 - 1898
1899 - 1922
1923 - 1950
1951 - 1981
1982 - 2003
Sources

Pionniers et Immigrants
Image
Image

Photo: Senator James Gladstone - Glenbow Archives NA-1524-1
Copyright/Source

1951 - 1981: Aboriginal Rights Movement

Upon signing the United Nations Universal Declaration of Human Rights in December 1948, Canada's government was forced to re-examine its treatment of Aboriginals for the first time. Voting rights were extended in 1960, and Aboriginal civil rights became an ongoing concern in the 1970s. While there were still many Aboriginal grievances, they would make significant gains during this period.

Topics in this section:

Indian Act Revisions, 1951
The Right To Vote, 1960
White and Red Papers, 1969 - 1970
Drybones Case, 1970
Calder Case, 1973
Berger Commission, 1974 - 1977
James Bay and Northern Québec Agreement, 1975
Other Interesting and Important Documents

Indian Act Revisions, 1951
In 1951, the Indian Act was changed so that many of the most oppressive laws banning key customs - including potlatches, pow-wows or other cultural ceremonies - were no longer effective. Aboriginals were also now allowed to possess and drink alcohol for the first time, but only on their own reserves.

Just as significant were changes made to the act allowing Aboriginals to sue the government over land claims. The provinces gained an increased role in determining Indian status. However, ultimate control over the Aboriginal peoples still resided (and still resides) with the federal government.

The Right to Vote, 1960
In 1958, Prime Minister John Diefenbaker named James Gladstone, a member of Alberta's Blood tribe, as the first Native Senator. Then, in 1960, he gave non-enfranchised Aboriginals the right to vote in federal elections. Despite these moves, though, the federal government was still opposed to the idea of Aboriginal self-government.

In March 1959, the Royal Canadian Mounted Police was sent into Six Nations Reserve near Brantford, Ontario, which, until 1924, had been completely self-governed. The police were there to evict Iroquois chiefs and clan mothers after traditionalists on the reserve seized control and, for all intents and purposes, declared the reserve separate from Canada.

Photo: Alberta tipis, 1970 - Glenbow Archives NA-2864-6300
Copyright/Source

White and Red Papers, 1969 - 1970
The year following Prime Minister Pierre Trudeau's rise to power in 1968, his government issued a White Paper on Aboriginal policy that argued that Canada shouldn't negotiate any further treaties with the Native peoples. Trudeau believed treaties were something only signed between sovereign nations. His government also did not agree with Aboriginal land right claims, either, because they were too broad and unspecific. Aboriginals feared this stance would undermine their special rights and status within Canadian society.

Aboriginals responded with their own document, named Citizens Plus, in 1970. This became more commonly known as the Red Paper. The Red Paper countered all of the proposals of the White Paper. An Aboriginal delegation, backed by other Canadian citizens, met with the government and successfully convinced it to radically change its policies and positions.

Image
 

The White Paper, 1969

READ the summary
Image

Image
 

Citizens Plus, also known as The Red Paper, 1970

READ the summary
Image

The Drybones Case, 1970
In 1969, an Aboriginal man named Joesph Drybones was found drunk in a Yellowknife hotel lobby and was arrested. While the Indian Act now allowed Aboriginals to drink, they could only do so on reserves. At the time, no reserves existed in the Northwest Territories.

Drybones fought his case all the way to the Supreme Court of Canada, who found that the police had discriminated against him because of his race when they charged him with drunkenness. This ruling effectively caused the no-drinking clause in the Indian Act to fall into disuse.

The Calder Case, 1973
Frank Arthur Calder, a member of the federal Cabinet, sued the British Columbian government over land claims issues outstanding in the province with the Nisga'a tribe. The issue went to the Supreme Court of Canada, which ruled that aboriginal rights to the land did exist, particularly under the Royal Proclamation of 1763 and subsequent government implementation of that proclamation.

This ruling forced Pierre Trudeau's government to reconsider its federal Aboriginal policy once again, which opened the door to discussion on the intent and meaning of all Indian treaties.

The Berger Commission, 1974 - 1977

Photo: Oil Distillation Tower - NAC/ANC WRM 4613
Copyright/Source

During the 1960s, new natural gas reserves were found in the Beaufort Sea in the Arctic, and oil companies began to express interest in building a pipeline straight through the fragile ecosystem of the northern Yukon and Mackenzie River Valley. In the mid-1970s, the Berger Commission, led by Thomas Berger, examined the effects of this proposed pipeline. Aboriginals in the region were particularly opposed to the pipeline, for several reasons:

  • Environmental concerns

  • Skepticism about the motives and interests of big business

  • Perceptions that it infringed upon their land rights and special status.

Ultimately, the pipeline was never built.

The James Bay and Northern Québec Agreement, 1975

James Bay Agreement Treaty
James Bay Agreement Treaty


This was, notably, the first major land cession deal signed since the early twentieth century. It gave Inuit and Cree people in northern Québec significant amounts of money - $225 million - and hunting and fishing rights to land that was to be surrendered to the provincial government. The Québec provincial government wanted large portions of land in the northern half of the province for the purposes of building hydroelectric dams.

Image
 

James Bay and Northern Québec Native Claims Settlement Act, 1975

READ the summary
Image

Image
 

Cree-Naskapi (of Québec) Act, 1984

READ the summary
Image

Other Interesting or Important Links:

Previous page

Image
Image
  ImageTop of Page Image
Image Image
Image

AccueilCarte du siteIndex du siteComment utiliser ce siteLexiqueContactez-nousRemerciements Image
Le Canada en devenir
Le Canada en devenirAboriginals: Treaties & Relations
Sources primaires
Ressources du professeur
Consultation rapide
Événements et sujets spécifiques
Cartes & images
English
Image
Image
Thèmes:
Histoire de la constitution
Image
Autochtones : Traités et relations
1492 - 1779
1763 - 1791
1764 - 1836
1811 - 1867
1867 - 1870
1871 -1875
1876 -1877
1878 - 1898
1899 - 1922
1923 - 1950
1951 - 1981
1982 - 2003
Sources

Pionniers et Immigrants
Image
Image

Photographe : Le sénateur James Gladstone / Archives de Glenbow / NA-1524-1
Droit d'auteur/Source

1951 - 1981 : Le Mouvement des droits autochtones

Lors de la signature de la Déclaration universelle des droits de l'homme en décembre 1948, le gouvernement du Canada a été forcé de réexaminer pour la première fois son traitement des autochtones. Le droit de vote fut accordé en 1960, alors que les droits civils autochtones sont devenus une préoccupation constante au cours des années 1970. Bien que plusieurs griefs aient subsisté chez les autochtones, ils allaient réaliser des gains importants durant cette période.

Sujets abordés dans cette section :

Les révisions de la Loi sur les Indiens, 1951
Le droit de vote, 1960
Les Livres blanc et rouge, 1969 - 1970
L'affaire Drybones, 1970
L'affaire Calder, 1973
La commission Berger, 1974 - 1977
Convention de la baie James et du Nord québécois, 1975
Autres liens intéressants ou importants

Les révisions de la Loi sur les Indiens, 1951
En 1951, la Loi sur les Indiens a été modifiée afin que la plupart des lois jugées les plus oppressives interdisant des coutumes-clés - comme les potlachs, les pow-wows ou autres cérémonies culturelles - soient supprimées. Pour la première fois, les autochtones pouvaient dorénavant posséder et boire de l'alcool, mais seulement sur leurs réserves.

D'autres changements tout aussi importants furent apportés à la loi pour permettre aux autochtones de poursuivre le gouvernement en matière de revendications territoriales. Les provinces ont aussi obtenu un rôle plus considérable dans le domaine de la détermination du Statut d'Indien. Mais, en fin de compte, l'administration des peuples autochtones relevait (et relève toujours) du gouvernement fédéral.

Le droit de vote, 1960
En 1958, James Gladstone, un membre de la tribu des Gens-du-Sang de l'Alberta, fut désigné par le premier ministre John Diefenbaker pour devenir le premier sénateur indigène. Puis, en 1960, il a accordé aux autochtones non-émancipés le droit de voter dans les élections fédérales. Mais, malgré ces gestes, le gouvernement s'opposait toujours à l'idée de donner aux autochtones le droit de s'administrer eux-mêmes.

En mars 1959, la Gendarmerie royale du Canada fut envoyée à la réserve des Six-Nations près de Brantford, en Ontario, qui, jusqu'en 1924, jouissait d'une complète autonomie administrative. La gendarmerie s'y était rendue pour évincer les chefs iroquois et les mères de clan, car des traditionalistes sur la réserve avaient saisi le contrôle et pratiquement déclaré l'indépendance de la réserve à l'intérieur du Canada.

Photographe : Tipis des Premières nations de l'Alberta, 1970 / Archives de Glenbow / NA-2864-6300
Droit d'auteur/Source

Les Livres blanc et rouge, 1969 - 1970
L'année après l'accession au pouvoir du premier ministre Pierre Trudeau en 1968, son gouvernement a présenté un Livre blanc sur la politique autochtone qui soutenait que le Canada ne devrait plus négocier d'autres traités avec les peuples indigènes. Trudeau croyait que les traités ne devaient être signés qu'entre des États souverains. De plus, son gouvernement n'était pas d'accord avec les revendications territoriales des autochtones, car elles étaient trop étendues et imprécises. Les autochtones craignaient que cette position ne sape leurs droits spéciaux et leur statut à l'intérieur de la société canadienne.

Les autochtones ont alors riposté en 1970 avec leur propre document qui avait pour titre Citizens Plus. Ce document devint mieux connu sous le nom de Livre rouge. Le Livre rouge allait à l'encontre de toutes les propositions du Livre blanc. Une délégation autochtone appuyée par d'autres citoyens canadiens a rencontré le gouvernement et a réussi à le convaincre de modifier radicalement ses politiques et ses positions.

Image
 

Le Livre blanc, 1969

LIRE le sommaire
Image

Image
 

Citizens Plus, aussi connu sous le titre de Livre rouge, 1970

LIRE le sommaire
Image

L'affaire Drybones, 1970
En 1969, un autochtone du nom de Joseph Drybones, ayant été trouvé soûl dans le hall d'un hôtel de Yellowknife, fut arrêté. Bien que la Loi sur les Indiens permettait maintenant aux autochtones de boire, ils n'avaient le droit de le faire que sur les réserves. À cette époque, aucune réserve n'existait dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest.

Drybones a défendu sa cause jusqu'à la cour Suprême du Canada qui a déclaré que la police avait fait preuve de discrimination raciale envers lui lors de son arrestation pour ivresse. Cette décision a effectivement rendu inopérante la clause de « non-intoxication » contenue dans la Loi sur les Indiens.

L'affaire Calder, 1973
Frank Arthur Calder, un membre du Cabinet fédéral, a poursuivi le gouvernement de la Colombie-Britannique au sujet des revendications territoriales de la tribu des Nishgas qui étaient demeurées en suspens dans la province. La cause s'est rendue jusqu'à la cour Suprême du Canada qui a jugé que les droits territoriaux des autochtones sur ce territoire existaient vraiment, surtout en vertu de la Proclamation royale de 1763 et la mise en application subséquente de cette proclamation.

Ce jugement a obligé le gouvernement de Pierre Trudeau à reconsidérer, encore une fois, ses politiques fédérales sur les autochtones, ce qui a ouvert la porte aux discussions concernant les intentions et la signification de tous les traités indiens.

La commission Berger, 1974 - 1977

Photographe : Tour de distillation pour le pétrole, 1944 / Archives nationales du Canada / WRM 4613
Droit d'auteur/Source

Durant les années 1960, de nouvelles réserves de gaz naturel furent trouvées dans la mer de Beaufort, dans l'Arctique, et les compagnies pétrolières se sont aussitôt montrées intéressées par la construction d'un pipeline directement à travers l'écosystème fragile du nord du Yukon et de la vallée du Mackenzie. Au milieu des années 1970, la commission Berger, présidée par Thomas Berger, a examiné l'impact de ce projet de pipeline. Les autochtones de la région étaient essentiellement opposés à ce pipeline pour plusieurs raisons :

  • Soucis pour l'environnement.

  • Scepticisme concernant les raisons et les intérêts des grosses entreprises.

  • Perceptions que ce projet empiétait sur leurs droits territoriaux et leur statut spécial.

En fin de compte, le pipeline ne fut jamais construit.

Convention de la baie James et du Nord québécois, 1975

Région de la Convention de la baie James et du Nord québécois
Région de la Convention de la baie James et du Nord québécois


C'était, notamment, la première entente d'importance sur une cession de terres à être signée depuis le début du XXe siècle. Elle a donné aux peuples des Inuits et des Cris résidant dans le Nord québécois des sommes considérables d'argent - 225,000,000 $ - et des droits de chasse et de pêche sur le territoire qui serait cédé au gouvernement provincial. Le gouvernement provincial du Québec désirait d'immenses étendus de territoires dans la moitié supérieure de la province afin d'y construire des barrages hydroélectriques.

Image
 

Loi sur le Règlement des revendications des autochtones de la Baie James et du Nord québécois, 1975
(Courtoisie du ministère de la Justice du Canada)

LIRE le sommaire
Image

Image
 

La loi des Cris et Naskapis du Québec, 1984
(Courtoisie du ministère de la Justice du Canada)

LIRE le sommaire
Image

Autres liens intéressants ou importants :

Image
 

Quebec Boundaries Extensions Act, 1912
(Étend les frontières du Québec à l'intérieur du territoire de la baie James et de la baie d'Hudson.)

LIRE le sommaire
Image

Page précédente

Image
Image
  ImageHaut de page Image
Image Image
Image