elects 2015 Board of Directors

June 25, 2015
Contact: welcomes the addition of three eminent librarians and representatives of leading memory institutions to its Board of Directors:

• Lesley Balcom, Director of Libraries, University of New Brunswick
• Vickery Bowles, City Librarian, Toronto Public Library
• Johanna Smith, Director General, Services Branch, Library and Archives Canada

The new Board was constituted at the Annual Council Meeting on June 19, 2015, with candidates elected from pools nominated by Foundation- and Governing-level members.'s volunteer Board of Directors is composed of distinguished scholars and librarians from across Canada who are entrusted with decisions relating to the long-term development and achievement of’s mission. is grateful for the Board's continuing guidance and efforts in positioning the organization as a leader in digitization, preservation, and access.

Directors hold office for a term of two years and are eligible for re-election for a second term. Incumbents Larry Alford, Chief Librarian, University of Toronto Libraries, was elected Treasurer for the 2015-17 term, while Jonathan Bengtson of the University of Victoria assumed the role of Vice-President. Leslie Weir, University Chief Librarian, University of Ottawa, continues as President for a second term. wishes to thank departing Directors for contributing their time, talent and leadership to the organization, as well as for the competence and foresight with which they fulfilled their functions.