elects 2013 Board of Directors

July 26, 2013
Contact: Daniel Velarde -

In July, six distinguished scholars and archivists were elected to the Board of Directors from candidate pools nominated by Foundation- and Governing-level members:

• Marcello Vitali Rosati, Professeur adjoint, Département des Littératures de langue française, Université de Montréal (More information (français));
• Fabien Lengellé, Directeur général, Bibliothèque et Archives Canada;
• Karen Grant, Provost and Vice-President, Mount Allison University (More information);
• Loubna Ghaouti, Directrice de la Bibliothèque, Université Laval;
• Benoit Ferland, Directeur général, Direction générale de la conservation, Bibliothèque et Archives nationales du Québec;
• Jonathan Bengtson, University Librarian, University of Victoria (More information).

Officers include:

• President Leslie Weir, University Librarian, University of Ottawa (More information);
• Vice-President Jane Pyper, City Librarian, Toronto Public Library;
• Treasurer Sylvie Belzile, Directrice générale, Service des bibliothèques et archives, Université de Sherbrooke.

The volunteer Board of Directors, composed of distinguished scholars and librarians from across Canada, is entrusted with decisions relating to the long-term development and achievement of’s mission. is grateful for their continuing guidance and effort in positioning the organization as a leader in digitization, preservation, and access.

Directors hold office for a term of two years (2013-15) and are eligible for re-election for one further such term. Incumbent Larry Alford, Chief Librarian, University of Toronto Libraries, was elected to a second term. wishes to thank departing Directors for contributing their time, talent and leadership to the organization, as well as for the competence and foresight with which they fulfilled their functions.

In 2011-13,’s ambitions, services and capacity grew dramatically. The Board oversaw a conversion of Early Canadiana Online to a new, modern and extensible digital delivery platform. It led new digitization partnerships at a time when national and regional digitization was sputtering out. It also supported's efforts to build secure digital repository infrastructure, laying the foundation for a trusted space where memory institutions across country may deposit and care for their digital information—the first step towards a national virtual library.

With these accomplishments in hand, is well-organized, ready and enthusiastic to meet the challenges ahead.

2013 Governance changes

The Canada Not-for-profit Corporation Act, amended 17 October 2011, established new regulations to which non-profit organizations must adapt by 2014. To reach compliance with the legislation smoothly and ahead of deadline, overhauled its bylaws, governance and membership structure in 2013. Under the new governance model, the Board of Directors has been compressed to 10 members, board meetings occur more frequently, and the Executive Committee assumes less importance in the overall structure of the organization.

Formerly, to ensure robust national representation, the Board of Directors had three permanent members. These were:

• Bibliothèque et Archives nationales du Québec
• Canadian Association of Research Libraries
• Library and Archives Canada

Beginning in 2013, all Directors will require election by a majority vote during the Annual General Meeting, and permanent members have been abolished (positions of Director ex officio are also eliminated). Although representatives of these former permanent members continue to sit on the Board, it is now the person, and not the organization, who fills his or her appointment.

The Board of Directors will continue to be as representative as possible of the many constituent sectors within the memory community, and to promote the closest ties between stakeholders in the library and archival sciences, research communities, and heritage sector.